ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
How to Write Like a Chemist
ISBN: 9780199719457Click on the book image and use the Ebooks@Whitworth Link
Searching For a Compound
There are many ways you can describe a compound in order to search for it within a database. Consider your options and what types of descriptions the particular database will accept. If you get zero results, try another way before moving on to another resource.
Chemical name/synonyms
Common/trivial name
Molecular formula
Empirical formula
Structure
CAS Registry Number
For example, consider ethanol:
ethanol
ethyl alcohol
ethyl hydroxide
C2H6O
H3C-CH2-OH
CAS# 64-17-15
Key Article Databases
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowIn addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. See 'more' for registration info.
- American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new windowFull text dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1980's -current) Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, earth science, engineering, mathematics, and physics.
- Physical Sciences & Mathematics Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) Physical Sciences & Mathematics Commons is an Open Access repository of science and math literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution.
Citing Your Sources
The style mainly used for Chemistry is:
- ACS (American Chemical Society) Style
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find Chemistry eBooks
Click on a subject to see ebooks:
Prefer the retro feel of a book in your hands? Browse the library shelves in the QD section. Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
