Archives and Special Collections

Quick Information

To schedule an appointment

archives@whitworth.edu or call  (509)777-4481

Hours for Appointments -  Mon., Tues, Thurs., Fri., 9 a.m.-4p.m.  Wed. 1-4 p.m. and some Wed. Evenings.

Locate Resources

Search the Whitworth Catalog for books and some archival collections here

Online access to a selection of the Archives' finding aids is provided via the Archives West database: http://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/

Policies and Mission

The Whitworth University Archives and Special Collections’ mission is to collect, arrange, preserve, and make accessible the official and/or historical records of Whitworth University and its predecessors; the documents of the history of Pacific Northwest Protestant religious and social experience; and the historical documents of regional and international missionary work with ties to the University.

Collection Development Policy for the Archives and Special Collections

Areas of Collection

Whitworth University Archives

  1. The University Archives identifies, preserves, and administers records of long-term and permanent administrative, legal, fiscal, and research value not in current use. Records may be in any form—including, but not limited to, paper, electronic, photographic, digital and magnetic media
  2. Organizational records, which relate to university administration at all levels are to be collected and permanently maintained. For example: correspondence, memoranda, minutes, financial records, reports, grant records, departmental files, architectural plans, documentary photographs and negatives, film, audio and videotapes, and publications created by and for the university.
  3. Administration and staff that have collected the records will continue to have access to the records after transfer to the archives. Outside researchers may have limited access due to the “Rules Governing Access to the Official Archives of Whitworth University.”
  4. Desired collecting level to be comprehensive when it comes to University records.

Whitworth University History Special Collections

  1. Collected history of Whitworth University and its predecessors including documents, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, oral histories, and representative memorabilia regarding life and employment at Whitworth University.
  2. Academic personal papers of faculty, staff and alumni. May be limited in scope and volume. 
  3. Acquired materials, such as papers of individuals and organizations, which promote the university's mission through their relation to subject areas of particular interest to the university and/or which add value to the university's collections and programs.
  4. Desired collecting level to be representative examples of student life, faculty, and alumni but will not be comprehensive.

Pacific Northwest Protestant Special Collection

  1. Collection of records of Protestant churches from the states of Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Alaska which may include administrative and organizational records, correspondence, memoranda, minutes, financial records, reports, grant records, departmental files, architectural plans, documentary photographs and negatives, film, audio and videotapes, and publications created by and for the churches.
  2. Records both official and social of institutions having Protestant origins as well as interdenominational regional history.
  3. Records and papers of individual Protestant religious leaders in the Pacific Northwest.
  4. Desired collecting level should be representative of the Protestant religious experience in the Pacific Northwest.

Missionary Collections

  1. Collection of records on missionary endeavors both in the Pacific Northwest and internationally. International focus will be primarily on Asia and Africa.
  2. These collections will consist of correspondence to and from the missionaries, photographs of the missionary work, scrapbooks, published and unpublished histories of the missions and the missionaries.
  3. Missionary collections accepted should have a tie to Whitworth University and its faculty and staff.
  4. Desired collecting level should be representative and hold a value for the research of students and faculty at Whitworth University.

Other Special Collections

  1. Collections outside the scope of the areas listed above will usually not be accepted into the Whitworth University Archives and Special Collections.
  2. Collections that are pre-existing in the library and/or archives can be added to or expanded. These include the Daniel Photographic Collection, the Hans Moldenhauer Music Collection, the Ruby Collection, the Father’s Day Collection, and the Bill Fix Mountaineering Collection.
  3. Desired collecting level should be representative and hold a value for the research of students and faculty at Whitworth University.