This is the "Home" page of the "Spotlight on Library News" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Spotlight on Library News  

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.whitworth.edu/spotlight Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Digital Films on Demand

New subscription Digital Films on Demand has video and multimedia on

  • academic subjects
  • vocations
  • life-skills 

Learn more: Quick Start Guide

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text

New Database providing online indexing and full-text of many dissertations and theses from academic institutions across the country.

From the ProQuest Description:
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full Text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT — Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage

  • Multidisciplinary
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

Morningstar Database

Learn more about Morningstart investments with the Tutorial Center.

 

Morningstar Description - by University of Chicago

Morningstar Investment Research Center now available

The Library is now providing access to the Morningstar Investment Research Center. The database offers analysis on 1700 stocks, 2000 mutual funds and 300 exchange traded funds (ETFs). While it is primarily designed as a tool for investors, it is also an excellent place to get quick information on a company.

The Company Stock Reports include analysis written by Morningstar’s experts, up to 10 years of financials, bond information, ratios, SEC filings and information on insider actions and institutional holders.  Reports are available for the top 2000 companies but other information is available for many more.

Another useful feature is their industry returns section, which is under the markets tab. This has total return for broad industry segments and identifies the top companies in the sector, with links to more information on those companies.

You can download financial data to Excel but you cannot download pricing data. Mergent Online does have price data for downloading, however.

http://news.lib.uchicago.edu/blog/2011/05/12/morningstar-investment-research-center-now-available/

 

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian for assistance with your questions and research problems.

reference@whitworth.edu

Phone (509)777-4491

Or stop by the Reference Desk in the Library

Quick help or Research Appointments Available.

Whitworth Library Web Page

Google Scholar



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip