A-Z Databases
Explore the Database Whitworth provides to students, instructors, and staff organized alphabetically.
Gale Academic OneFile
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform used by thousands of institutions and millions of users worldwide. With quality databases and search features, EBSCOhost helps researchers find the information they need fast.
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. JSTOR helps everyone discover, share and connect valuable ideas. JSTOR provides access to over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest
ProQuest has built a growing content collection that now encompasses 90,000 authoritative sources, 6 billion digital pages and spans six centuries. ProQuest includes the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; 20 million pages and three centuries of global, national, regional, and specialty newspapers; more than 450,000 ebooks; rich aggregated collections of the world’s most important scholarly journals and periodicals; and unique vaults of digitized historical collections from great libraries and museums, as well as organizations as varied as the Royal Archives, the Associated Press and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. You get access to ProQuest via Whitworth University access.
Photos of Artwork of BLM Movement
This point shapefile represents locations of street art, graffiti, murals, and other scenes of the Black Lives Matter movement that took place in Soho, New York City in early-June, 2020. The images were captured in the days following the murder of George Floyd, who was killed while in police custody in Minneapolis, MN on May 25, 2020.
George Floyd Street Art (Urban Art Mapping)
URBAN ART MAPPING is a multi-disciplinary research team dedicated to documenting and analyzing street art. Artists and writers producing work in the streets – including tags, graffiti, murals, stickers, and other installations on walls, pavement, and signs – are in a unique position to respond quickly and effectively in a moment of crisis. Street art’s ephemeral nature serves to reveal very immediate and sometimes fleeting responses, often in a manner that can be raw and direct. At the same time, in the context of a crisis, street art also has the potential to transform urban space and foster a sustained political dialogue, reaching a wide audience and making change possible.
Hate News Index
This page lists media reports, collected by Google News, about hate crimes and bias incidents. The “keywords” column contains names and places found in the news reports in the “articles” column. The larger the word, the more prevalent it is in those stories. Select one of the words to see a list of news stories that contain it.
Police Brutality Data Sites Gallery
A gallery of data sites based on 2020 police brutality data points.
Digital Commons
Whitworth Digital Commons is the institutional repository and open-access archive of the intellectual and creative output of Whitworth University faculty, students, and staff. Contributions include theses/dissertations, conference proceedings, research publications, research data, student honors projects, and newsletters.
Equal Justice Initiative
The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, challenging racial and economic injustice and protecting fundamental human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.
Prison Policy Initiative
The non-profit, non-partisan Prison Policy Initiative produces cutting-edge research to expose the broader harm of mass criminalization and then sparks advocacy campaigns to create a more just society.
Open Policing Project
Stanford's team is gathering, analyzing, and releasing records from millions of traffic stops by law enforcement agencies across the country. Their goal is to help researchers, journalists, and policymakers investigate and improve interactions between police and the public.
Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project
The Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED) is a disaggregated data collection, analysis, and crisis mapping project. ACLED collects information on the dates, actors, locations, fatalities, and types of all reported political violence and protest events around the world. The ACLED team conducts analysis to describe, explore, and test conflict scenarios, and makes both data and analysis open for free use by the public.
Access World News
Access World News Research Collection: 2023 Edition sets a new standard for digital research resources. With an unprecedented combination of international, national, regional, and local news, the 2023 Edition supports a diverse range of research needs across many subject areas.
Harvard Civil Rights - Civil Liberties Law Review
Harvard Business Review is the leading destination for smart management thinking. Through its flagship magazine, books, and digital content and tools published on HBR.org, Harvard Business Review aims to provide professionals around the world with rigorous insights and best practices to help lead themselves and their organizations more effectively and make a positive impact.
Harvard Black Letter Law Journal
The Harvard BlackLetter Law Journal (BLJ) focuses on struggles against anti-Blackness and challenges ideas about who can legitimately produce knowledge related to law. The Journal features work by people writing from many different experiences, on a range of topics, and in a variety of forms, including poetry, essays, visual art, songs, and other forms of expression. BLJ, therefore, publishes work by and for activists, artists, currently and formerly incarcerated people, lawyers, professors, and many others.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
The Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is the definitive source of news and information through the lens of business, finance, economics and money, global forces that shape the world and are key to understanding it.
New York Times
The New York Times is dedicated to helping people understand the world through on-the-ground, expert and deeply reported independent journalism.
Washington Post
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. It is the most widely circulated newspaper within the Washington metropolitan area.
Reuters
Reuters is one of the world's largest international news agencies. It provides tailor-made broadcast news and print reports to media outlets worldwide on subjects ranging from terrorism and politics to entertainment and sports.
Newspapers in print at the library:
- Financial Times
- Journal of Business
- New York Times
- Christian Science Monitor
- Spokesman-Review
- Wall Street Journal
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Historical Newspapers
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature broadly. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
BASE
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines, especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 300 million documents from more than 10,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
CORE
CORE provides access to the world’s largest collection of open-access research papers, collecting and indexing research from repositories and journals. CORE is a not-for-profit service dedicated to the open access mission and one of the signatories of the Principles of Open Scholarly Infrastructures POSI.
To use CORE, you will need to make an account with your Whitworth email. You can also download a Chrome extension plugin for easier access to fast and quick research!
Semantic Scholar
Semantic Scholar provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community. Semantic Scholar indexes over 200 million academic papers from publisher partnerships, data providers, and web crawls.
Checking for Peer Review
The peer-review process subjects an author's scholarly work, research, or ideas to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field (peers) and is considered necessary to ensure academic scientific quality (USGS).
You can filter through your searches by applying "Peer-Reviewed" or "Reviewed" Articles.
Take a look at editorial statements or abstracts for references to the Peer Reviewed process.
Most scholarly journals have a website that will state if it is peer-reviewed. Go directly to the journal's webpage and search through its homepage, manuscript submission page, or 'about' page.