Research Guides: Occupational Therapy: Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases

Academic Search Complete
EBSCO – Cross-disciplinary full-text database, including scholarly journals, popular and trade publications, and journalism.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
EBSCO - Full-text database, focusing on scholarly articles in the area of nursing and allied health. Also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Cochrane Library
WILEY - Full-text database of health care resources. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
ERIC
ProQuest - (1966-current) Education Resource Information Center is the major education index. Also use ERIC from the Department of Education site.
MedicLatina
EBSCO - Spanish language database of medical research and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, MedicLatina contains a complete table of contents and PDF full text for peer-reviewed medical journals.
MEDLINE
EBSCO - (1950's-current) Biomedical journal abstracts for medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Also available in public Web Version. Searches abstracts of over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection
PROQUEST - Multi-format database focusing on health sciences, including nursing, occupational therapy, and physical therapy. Includes scholarly articles, training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based materials.

Includes journals, videos, dissertations, e-books, study paths, and more.
PsycINFO
ProQuest - (1806-current) International index/abstracts of journals, books, dissertations and reports in psychology and related disciplines.

Covers psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PubMed
(Free) PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.

PubMed Quick Tour – Find Articles on a Topic.
LitSense (Search Tool for PubMed) – Finds the best-matching sentences based on overlapping terms as well as semantic similarity searching PubMEd and PMC..
Visible Body - Anatomy Apps
Visible Body is a selection of multimedia apps that allows users to explore human anatomy through 3-D examination. Included in Whitworth's collection is Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology, and Muscle Premium.

Mobile apps are also available. Search in Apple Store or Google Play for 2021 Atlas Perpetual, 2020 P&P Perpetual, or 2018 Muscle Premium Perpetual - do not purchase, they should be the free versions. The initial download is large. Once downloaded, you can only gain access by logging into WhitStaff or WhitStudent Wifi networks on campus and opening the app. You will then have access from anywhere for 150 days.