Explore the Database Whitworth provides to students, instructors, and staff organized alphabetically.
Project MUSE is a scholarly database that provides access to a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals. It covers critical race feminism within disciplines like philosophy, history, anthropology, and political science.
The African American Studies Center is an online reference database that offers comprehensive information on the history, culture, and experiences of African Americans. It includes articles, biographies, primary sources, and multimedia content that explore critical race feminism within the African American context.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform used by thousands of institutions and millions of users worldwide. With quality databases and search features, EBSCOhost helps researchers find the information they need fast.
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. JSTOR helps everyone discover, share and connect valuable ideas. JSTOR provides access to over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest has built a growing content collection that now encompasses 90,000 authoritative sources, 6 billion digital pages and spans six centuries. ProQuest includes the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; 20 million pages and three centuries of global, national, regional, and specialty newspapers; more than 450,000 ebooks; rich aggregated collections of the world’s most important scholarly journals and periodicals; and unique vaults of digitized historical collections from great libraries and museums, as well as organizations as varied as the Royal Archives, the Associated Press and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. You get access to ProQuest via Whitworth University access.
Whitworth Digital Commons is the institutional repository and open-access archive of the intellectual and creative output of Whitworth University faculty, students, and staff. Contributions include theses/dissertations, conference proceedings, research publications, research data, student honors projects, and newsletters.
Access World News Research Collection: 2023 Edition sets a new standard for digital research resources. With an unprecedented combination of international, national, regional, and local news, the 2023 Edition supports diverse research needs across many subject areas.
Harvard Business Review is the leading destination for smart management thinking. Through its flagship magazine, books, and digital content and tools published on HBR.org, Harvard Business Review aims to provide professionals around the world with rigorous insights and best practices to help lead themselves and their organizations more effectively and make a positive impact.
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
The Wall Street Journal is the definitive source of news and information through the lens of business, finance, economics and money, global forces that shape the world and are key to understanding it.
The New York Times is dedicated to helping people understand the world through on-the-ground, expert and deeply reported independent journalism.
USA TODAY Network is the largest local-to-national publishing and digital media organization in the country. USA TODAY sits at the center of the network, surrounded by hundreds of local media properties reporting on the stories and cultural moments happening in our communities.
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. It is the most widely circulated newspaper within the Washington metropolitan area.
Reuters is one of the world's largest international news agencies. It provides tailor-made broadcast news and print reports to media outlets worldwide on subjects ranging from terrorism and politics to entertainment and sports.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature broadly. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines, especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 300 million documents from more than 10,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
CORE provides access to the world’s largest collection of open-access research papers, collecting and indexing research from repositories and journals. CORE is a not-for-profit service dedicated to the open access mission and one of the signatories of the Principles of Open Scholarly Infrastructures POSI.
To use CORE, you will need to make an account with your Whitworth email. You can also download a Chrome extension plugin for easier access to fast and quick research!
Semantic Scholar provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community. Semantic Scholar indexes over 200 million academic papers from publisher partnerships, data providers, and web crawls.
The peer-review process subjects an author's scholarly work, research, or ideas to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field (peers) and is considered necessary to ensure academic scientific quality (USGS).
You can filter through your searches by applying "Peer-Reviewed" or "Reviewed" Articles.
Take a look at editorial statements or abstracts for references to the Peer Reviewed process.
Most scholarly journals have a website that will state if it is peer-reviewed. Go directly to the journal's webpage and search through its homepage, manuscript submission page, or 'about' page.