Open Access at Whitworth
Whitworth Library has links to Open Access (OA) databases to the A-Z Databases list. You can filter by "open access" in database type or look for the open access symbol 
next to any link in our Research Guides.
- Whitworth Digital CommonsThe Digital Commons is the institutional repository and open access archive of the intellectual and creative output of Whitworth University faculty, students, and staff.
Open Access Repositories
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is an independent community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Epistoemonikos Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.
- JURN A curated academic search engine that indexes thousands of free articles, chapters, and theses.
- MDPI Journals MDPI currently publishes 417 peer-reviewed journals, and 9 conference journals which are dedicated to publishing outputs from academic conferences.
- OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
- OSTI.gov (Office of Scientific and Technical Information OSTI.gov provides free public access to over 282,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature primarily from 1991 forward.
- PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 23 years. It is a free database of over 59,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
- PLOS PLOS publishes a suite of peer-reviewed Open Access journals that feature quality research, expert commentary, and critical analysis across all scientific disciplines.
- Scilit The name Scilit uses components of the words “scientific” and “literature”. This database of scholarly works is developed and maintained by the open access publisher MDPI. Scilit is a comprehensive, free database for scientists using a new method to collate data and indexing scientific material. Our crawlers extract the latest data from CrossRef and PubMed on a daily basis. This means that newly published articles are added to Scilit immediately.
- Trip Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
- UNESCO OA Digital Library Building peaceful, democratic and inclusive knowledge societies across the world is at the heart of UNESCO’s mandate. Universal access to information is one of the fundamental conditions to achieve global knowledge societies. This condition is not a reality in all regions of the world. In order to help reduce the gap between industrialized countries and those in the emerging economy, UNESCO has decided to adopt an Open Access Policy for its publications by making use of a new dimension of knowledge sharing - Open Access.
Open Access Books
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Over 86,000 academic peer-reviewed books
- Google Books If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
- IntechOpen Open Access books and journals. Many science related
- Project Gutenberg Access over 40,000 free eBooks