Children's Book Reviews in Journals
- Booklist Booklist is a publication of the American Library Association that provides critical reviews of books and audiovisual materials for all ages. A book that doesn't have a Booklist review has, in effect, received a negative review.
- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books provides concise summaries and critical evaluations of current children's books. Reviews give an in-depth look at a selected book's content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, and quality of the format, as well as suggestions for curricular use.
- Horn Book Magazine The Horn Book Magazine has long been essential for everyone who cares about children's and young adult literature. The oldest of the magazines in the United States dedicated to reviewing children's literature.
- School Library Journal School Library Journal reviews media and books for children in grades K-12. Reviewed by active library professionals who bring a practical view to the reviews.
Children's Book Reviews in Databases
- Academic Search Complete Includes reviews from Booklist, Horn Book, School Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, and Kirkus, among others. To limit to reviews, select book review from the Document Type dropdown list.
- Research Library Includes reviews from Booklist, Horn Book, School Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, and Kirkus, among others. To limit to reviews, select book review from the Subject dropdown list.
- TitleWave Create an account to locate access to reviews, search titles by topic, or limit titles based on title, grade, page number.
Reference
Best Books for Children by
This book is the newest edition of the acclaimed guide to the best recreational and educational reading for children in preschool through grade 6. This indispensable selection guide brings together information on nearly 25,000 of the best fiction and nonfiction for children in preschool through grade 6. Fully updated, including thousands of new entries published since the previous edition, it is an invaluable resource for making sure your children's collection is one your young patrons--and their parents and teachers--will enjoy. As always in the Best Books series, the authors have carefully culled the most trusted professional review sources to identify the most highly recommended new books for children. Brief annotations, bibliographic data, grade level appropriateness, and review citations help you identify books of high quality, while the book's topical arrangement makes it easy to create theme- and genre-based reading lists. New features include indication of titles available in audio and, where available, lexiles. * 25,000 annotated entries on recommended children's books * Helpful indexes, including author/illustrator, title, and subject/grade level * Thousands of new entries since the previous edition
Call Number: REF: PN1009.A1 G54Pub. date: 2010
Best Books for High School Readers, Supplement to the 2nd Edition by
This indispensable selection guide helps librarians, teachers, and patrons identify the best of the many books published each year for high school readers. Best Books for High School Readers, Grades 9-12: Supplement to the Second Edition is perfect for helping teachers, parents, librarians, and young adults identify the books that will be most suitable for students' educational needs and recreational reading. This up-to-date supplement to the second edition is a valuable resource for both collection development and creation of theme-related reading lists. It covers over 2,000 titles published between 2008 and early 2011, the majority of which have been recommended by at least two reviewing journals. Entries provide annotations with succinct plot summaries, review citations, reading level, and essential bibliographic information such as ISBN, price, and number of pages. * Thematic, curriculum-oriented arrangement * Includes Lexile Framework measures where available * Highlights available audio versions * Contains author/illustrator, title, and subject/grade level indexes to offer additional access routes
Call Number: REF: PN1009 .A1 G481Pub. date: 2011
Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers, Supplement to the 2nd Edition by
This indispensable selection guide helps librarians, teachers, and patrons identify the best of the many books published each year for readers in middle school and junior high. Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers, Grades 6-9: Supplement to the Second Edition is perfect for helping teachers, parents, librarians, and young adults identify the books that will be most suitable for students' educational needs and provide enjoyable recreational reading. This up-to-date reading guide for middle school and junior high reading materials is a valuable resource for both collection development and creation of theme-related bibliographic lists. It covers nearly 2,000 titles published between 2009 and early 2011, the majority of which have been recommended by at least two reviewing journals. Entries provide annotations with succinct plot summaries, review citations, reading level, and essential bibliographic information such as price, ISBN, and number of pages. * Thematic, curriculum-oriented arrangement * Highlights available audio versions * Includes Lexile Framework measures where available * Contains author/illustrator, title, and subject/grade level indexes to offer additional access routes
Call Number: REF: PN1009 .A1 G48Pub. date: 2011
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English by
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English is an alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of children's books written in English across the world. It gives due weight to the history of children's books from pre-Norman times to the present - respecting the canon but also recognising current developments in publishing practices and in children's own reading. In addition to the long established traditions of children's writing from Britain and the USA, the Guide covers the increasing range of successful children's books produced in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Africa and India; and the exciting renaissances in children's books taking place in Ireland and South Africa. In acknowledging that a great deal of what children read has little to do with classrooms and not much to do with what is considered 'literary', the Guide contains entries on television, comics, annuals and the growing range of media texts.
Call Number: REF: PR990 .C36Pub. date: 2001
From Tongue to Text: a New Reading of Children's Poetry by
The connection between childhood and poetry runs deep. And yet, poetry written for children has been neglected by criticism and resists prevailing theories of children's literature. Drawing on Walter Ong's theory of orality and on Iain McGilChrist's work on brain function, this book develops a new theoretical framework for the study of children's poetry. From Tongue to Text argues that the poem is a multimodal form that exists in the borderlands between the world of experience and the world of language and between orality and literacy - places that children themselves inhabit. Engaging with a wide range of poetry from nursery rhymes and Christina Rossetti to Michael Rosen and Carol Ann Duffy, Debbie Pullinger demonstrates how these 'tactful' works are shaped by the dynamics of orality and textuality.
Call Number: eBookPub. date: 2017
A Lifetime of Fiction by
A Lifetime of Fiction: The 500 Most Recommended Reads for Ages 2 to 102 is the most authoritative set of fiction book recommendations in the United States because it is a composite of the most noteworthy book award lists, best book publications, and recommended reading lists from leading libraries, schools, and parenting organizations from across the country. Who are these formidable experts? A Lifetime of Fiction amalgamates over 100 reading lists, including Time Magazine's Top 100 Novels, Modern Library's 100 Best Novels, Horn Book Children's Classics, The New York Times Parent's Guide to the Best Books for Children, Harvard Bookstore Favorite Books, College Board's Great Books Recommended for College-Bound Readers, National Education Association's Top Books for Children and 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. The definitive lists incorporate the Newbery Medals, Caldecott Medals, Coretta Scott King Awards, Pura Belpré Awards, Bram Stoker Awards, the Man Booker Awards, PEN/Faulkner Awards, Pulitzer Prizes, National Book Awards, New York Times Notable Books, and Los Angeles Times Book Prizes, and many more. A Lifetime of Fiction integrates the most widely recognized and respected literary award winners and runners up since the inception of the awards. The book is organized into five age group lists of 100 books - preschoolers (ages 2-5), early readers (ages 4-8), middle readers (ages 9-12), young adults (ages 13-17), and adults (ages 18+) - the books are in effect the selections made by the most formidable panel literary experts ever assembled. Each entry includes an annotation. To the perennial question, "What books are worth reading?" A Lifetime of Fiction: The 500 Most Recommended Reads for Ages 2 to 102 answers with best-of-the best booklists distilled from the most preeminent and trustworthy literary authorities.
Call Number: Main: PN3503 .M37Pub. date: 2014
Multicultural and Ethnic Children's Literature in the United States by
This book describes the history and characteristics of ethnic and multicultural children's literature in the U.S., as well as related materials published elsewhere. It relates in great detail the people, businesses, organizations, and institutions that create, disseminate, promote, critique, and collect these materials. Author Donna Gilton gives a detailed history of U.S. multicultural and ethnic children's literature throughout several historic periods, relating these developments to general social and political U.S. history. Chapters illustrate characteristics of U.S. multicultural children's books, the major issues in the field, and multicultural initiatives and mainstream responses, while also providing outlines of research possibilities in the field and suggesting other groups of people who should be emphasized more in the future. In doing all this, Multicultural and Ethnic Children's Literature in the United States brings together valuable and scattered information for the busy and involved librarians, teachers, parents, publishers, distributors, and community leaders who wish to use and promote this material with children.
Call Number: Main: Z1039.M56 G55Pub. date: 2007
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature by
Now in new covers, The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature brings together all aspects of this appealing and wide-ranging subject. It's 2,000 entries range from the early romances and legends enjoyed by children (although not composed for them) to cartoons, fairy stories, comic strips, radio, and television. It includes works from Britain, the US, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand, as well as works translated into English. The plots of major works are summarized, and full and fascinating details are included about authors, illustrators, fictional characters, genres, and important aspects of children's play and learning. Remember... * Thomas the Tank Engine *The Eagle *Emil and the Detectives * William * The Would-be-Goods * Charlie and the Chocalate Factory * The Secret Garden
Call Number: REF: PN1008.5.C37Pub. date: 1984
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by
For much of its history, children's literature has been overlooked or looked down on by scholars. But in recent years children's literature has assumed greater importance, as literary critics, psychologists, anthropologists, and historians have begun to discover what children and parents have known for centuries: that this is a literature of extraordinary richness, depth, and delight. The Encyclopedia captures and elucidates this richness in four volumes and 3,200 signed entries. It offers comprehensive coverage of children's literature, from medieval chapbooks of moral instruction for children to J. K. Rowling's immensely popular Harry Potter books. Unlike other references, the Encyclopedia not only documents but also interprets every work, major and minor, that has played a role in the history of children's literature in the world. General essays illuminate prominent trends, themes, genres, and the traditions of children's literature in many countries. In addition, the Encyclopedia provides biographies of important writers, as well as extensive coverage of illustrators with numerous examples of their work. Sociocultural developments such as the impact of toys, films, animation, the Internet, literacy, libraries and librarians, censorship, the multicultural expansion of the field, and other issues related to the appreciation and dissemination of children's literature are also addressed. While the Encyclopedia concentrates on the tradition known best by its readership, it also covers the international development of children's literature and offers an unprecedented treatment of works from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, African countries, and other nations. Its over 800 distinguished contributors come from around the world and include such renowned scholars and writers as Gillian Avery, Peter Hunt, Klaus Doderer, Hansa Heino Ewers, Jean Perrot, Denise Escarpit, Brian Alderson, and Betsy Gould Hearne. A-Z organization, accessible writing, plentiful illustrations, cross-references, bibliographies, a comprehensive index and a systematic outline make the Encyclopedia an invaluable and easy-to-use research reference.
Call Number: REF: PN1008.5 .O94Pub. date: 2006
Picture Books for Children by
Providing descriptive annotations of the best children's picture books published in the last decade, this comprehensive overview is perfect for librarians, teachers, parents, daycare providers, and anyone who works with young children. It is both an excellent tool for collection development and an abundant resource for planning storytimes and other children's programming. With selections based on proven appeal and quality, Northrup's survey features An introductory essay on the nature of the picture book, and an explanation of the evaluation criteria Bibliographic information on each picture book, including author, illustrator, publisher, date, and age recommendation A thorough index for quick reference and an appendix of additional suggested resourcesPacked with ardent and insightful recommendations, this book makes it a snap to select and use just the right picture books.
Call Number: REF: PN1009 .A1 N67Pub. date: 2012
A to Zoo by
This best-selling standard reference resource offers up-to-date information on fiction and nonfiction picture books for children. Comprehensive and easy to use, it consists of a subject guide, a bibliographic guide, and title and illustrator indexes. This 7th edition adds more than 4,000 titles published since 2001. An introduction discusses the history and amazing growth of English-language picture books. A to Zoo is useful for both reader's advisory and collection building.
Call Number: REF: PN1009.A1 L55Pub. date: 2005
