Award Winning Youth Books
- Association for Library Service to Children Awards Association for Library Services to Children's past and present book and media awards.
- Book Finder (YASLA) Young Adult Library Association book award and book lists searchable by award, author, genre, and award year.
- Children's Literature Award Winners Locate award winning books in the IMC.
- Database of Award Winning Children's Literature DAWCL has more than 4,500 records from 56 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland).
- Washington State Book Award The awards celebrate “works of outstanding literary merit” by Washington state authors that demonstrate “lasting importance and overall quality.”
Professional Organizations
- Association for Library Services to Children A division of the American Library Association, supports and enhancement of library service to children.
- The Center for Children's Books Provides professional training, and educational outreach related to youth-focused resources, literature, and librarianship. The Center partners with The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books.
- Children's Literature Association is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children.
- Washington Library Aossociation School Library Devision The WLA School Library Division provides networking opportunities and professional support for teacher-librarians and library paraprofessionals, administrators, teachers and parents.
- Young Adult Library Services Association Supports librarians meeting the literary needs of teens.
Spokane Public and County Library
Whitworth students can obtain Spokane Library and Spokane County Library cards for free.(please contact Stephanie Hallam for a temporary login). These libraries have multiple databases and additional children's books for future educators.
Explore some of these databases at Spokane County Library:
- CultureGramsExplore cultural information on peoples throughout the world, including recipes and what it's like to be a kid it that country (popular interests, food, school life).
- HelpNowGet help from live, online tutors for all ages available every day from 2-10pm. Find skill building activities, practice tests, and study tools--all available at any time.
- NoveList K-8 PlusFind fiction and nonfiction books and audio books by title, plot, keyword, or author for beginning readers up to teens.
- Spokane County Databases for Early Learning (ages 3-8) Databases include: 1000 Books Before Kindergarten Reading Challenge, ABCmouse, BookFlix, Just for Kids, Teachables, and Tumble Library
- TeachablesAccess thousands of printable lesson plans, learning games, reading passages, and worksheets for STEM, reading, writing, and beyond.
- Tumble BooksWatch and hear animated picture books with this online collection.