Authors
Classical, Mythology & Folklore
- A Dictionary of African MythologyOxford University Press. Provides hundreds of fascinating myths, but also recaptures their cultural contexts, in which story and storyteller, tradition and performance, all merge
- A Dictionary of Asian MythologyOxford University Press. Entries address the key mythologies of the regions we now call India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan, and broad overviews of specific cultures and their mythic traditions round out the coverage.
- A Dictionary of Celtic MythologyOxford University Press. Covers the people, themes, concepts, places, and creatures of Celtic mythology, from both ancient and modern traditions, in 4,000 entries ranging from brief definitions to short essays.
- A Dictionary of World MythologyOxford University Press. Presents the powerful gods of Greece, Rome, and Scandinavia, the more mystical deities of Buddhist and Hindu India, and the stern spirits of the African and American continents.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (2 ed.)Oxford University Press. The stories behind names and sayings that can be found in classic literature or today's news.
- Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase & FableOxford University Press. Focusing on the 20th and 21st centuries... catchphrases, slang, nicknames, fictional characters and... pop culture to politics, literature to technology.
- The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature (3 ed.)Oxford University Press; facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature... the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds
Language and Linguistics
- Oxford Linguistics Reference Books OnlineOxford University Press - Some titles are available in paper: Encyclopedia of rhetoric is at REF PN172.E52 2001, International encyclopedia of linguistics is at REF P29.I58 1992.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins (2 ed.)Oxford University Press. The origins and development of over 3,000 words and phrases in the English language.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English EtymologyOxford University Press. English language and its history.
- The Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in EnglishOxford University Press. The spelling, history, and usage of thousands of foreign words and phrases used by English speakers.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion (3 ed.)Oxford University Press. Covers allusions... drawing on our collective knowledge of literature, mythology, and the Bible.
Poetry
- Oxford Dictionary of RhymesOxford University Press. Rhymes for 45,000 words, including proper names, place names, and foreign terms used in English.
Quotations
- The Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (5 ed.)Oxford University Press - over 1,100 of the most widely used proverbs in English and uses research from the Oxford English Corpus
American Literature
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American LiteratureOxford University Press - available in paper at REF PS21.E53 2004
British Literature
- Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureOxford University Press - available in paper at REF PR19.O95 2006
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700. Books from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America.
