English

ProQuest - A library of 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, over 325 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. NO LONGER INCLUDES MLA, use MLA International link in A-Z Databases list.

GALE - Research authors and their works or literary movements and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

EBSCO - (1880s-current) Index of nearly 3 million scholarly materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 7,100 journals worldwide. Full text links included for some records. Compiled by the Modern Language Association (MLA).

Contains over 1,300 full-text scholarly journals. Coverage begins one to seven years after original publication so this source is usable only for back issues.

ProQuest - (1861-current) Full-text and abstracts for dissertations and theses from around the world.

Arts & Humanities Commons is an Open Access repository of humanities literature from universities all over the world.

GALE - Includes resources that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. Information useful for social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Subject encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, timelines, maps and quotation sources.

ProQuest - Multidisciplinary streaming video and music collections including history, art, business, law, dance, education, healthcare, music, science, and more.

A digital library of over 1 million images from a wide range of cultures and time periods and historical photographs from around the world. Now searchable from within JSTOR.

GALE - LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

GALE - Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.

ProQuest - Digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700. Books from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America.

ProQuest - (1543-1945) Large collection of primary and secondary sources on women published between 1543 and 1945. Covers history, education, feminism, employment, health and medicine, biography and political and social reform.

(Free) Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.