Locate Print and eBooks
Browse Print Books
Whitworth Library uses the Library of Congress classification system. Engineering books are located in both the main collection and reference (non-circulating) collection shelved under:
- T Technology
- TA Engineering (General). Civic engineering
- TC Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering
- TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
- TE Highway engineering. Roads and pavements
- TF Railroad engineering and operation
- TG Bridge engineering
- TJ Mechanical engineering and machinery
- TK Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
- TN Mining engineering. Metallurgy
Engineering eBook Searches
Click on a subject to see eBooks:
Reference Resources
Applied Minds by
Dubai's Burj Khalifa--the world's tallest building--looks nothing like Microsoft's Office Suite, and digital surround sound doesn't work like a citywide telecommunication grid. Yet these engineering feats have much in common. Applied Minds explores the unique visions and mental tools of engineers to reveal the enormous--and often understated--influence they wield in transforming problems into opportunities. The resulting account pairs the innovators of modern history--Thomas Edison, the Wright brothers, Steve Jobs--with everything from ATMs and the ZIP code system to the disposable diaper. An engineer himself, Guru Madhavan introduces a flexible intellectual tool kit called modular systems thinking as he explains the discipline's penchant for seeing structure where there is none. The creations that result from this process express the engineer's answers to the fundamental questions of design: usefulness, functionality, reliability, and user friendliness. Through narratives and case studies spanning the brilliant history of engineering, Madhavan shows how the concepts of prototyping, efficiency, reliability, standards, optimization, and feedback are put to use in fields as diverse as transportation, retail, health care, and entertainment. Equal parts personal, practical, and profound, Applied Minds charts a path to a future where we apply strategies borrowed from engineering to create useful and inspired solutions to our most pressing challenges.
Call Number: Main: TA148 .M33Pub. date: 2015
Building the World by
Two volume set.
Call Number: Reference: T56. I44ISBN: 9780313333743Pub. date: 2006
Concise Dictionary of Engineering by
This reference defines the principle and most commonly used terms found in engineering documents and drawings across multiple disciplines and explains them in plain, unambiguous English.
Call Number: eBook and Reference: TA9 .H36ISBN: 9783319078380Pub. date: 2014
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering by
This dictionary provides a quick and authoritative point of reference for chemical engineering, covering areas such as materials, energy balances, reactions, and separations. It also includes relevant terms from the areas of chemistry, physics, mathematics, and biology.
Call Number: eBook and Referenc TP9.S32ISBN: 9780199651450Pub. date: 2014
A Dictionary of Physics by
Now with over 4,000 entries, this new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including "Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment", "kilonova", "leptoquark", and "muscovium". The dictionary's range of appendices, updated for the new edition, includes the periodic table, the electromagnetic spectrum, and a detailed chronology of key dates. 15 new diagrams add to the clarity and accessibility of the text, with 150 line drawings, tables, and graphs in total, and many entries contain recommended web links.
Call Number: eBookPub. date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Energy by
This academic, multi-author reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of energy; to appreciate the influence of energy on societies around the world; to learn the history of energy; and to initiate educational discussion brought forth by the specific social and topical articles presented in the work. From Alaska to China to Brazil and around the world, energy is the fuel of modern civilization. The United States alone, which constitutes 5 percent of the world's population, consumes 24 percent of the world's energy. Tracing the routes and roots of energy through history, especially since the Industrial Revolution, and explaining the current levels of energy use and production across the globe, this four-volume encyclopaedia will be the definitive reference to essential energy and power information. From ""clean coal"" to oil to windpower, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, the Encyclopedia of Energy is a world round-up of energy-related curricular disciplines, including: history, sociology, environmentalism, public policy, science, engineering, and business. Especially targeted toward high-school students, this outstanding reference work is edited to tie into the high-school curriculum, making the content readily accessible as well to patrons of public, academic, and university libraries. Pedagogical elements include a Topic Finder, Chronology, Resource Guide, Glossary, Appendix, and thorough index. Presented in four volumes in an A-to-Z format, the Encyclopedia of Energy is richly illustrated with photos, charts, and tables, all comprising a unique resource.
Call Number: eBook and Reference: TJ163.16 .E33ISBN: 9781587658495Pub. date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Energy Engineering and Technology, Second Edition - Three Volume Set (Print) by Call Number: Reference: TJ163.2 .E385ISBN: 9781466506732Pub. date: 2015
Principles of Physical Science by
Includes: Properties & States of Matter Properties of Elements Chemical Bonding & Equations Gravity Force, Motion & Power Energy Electricity Magnetic Forces Heat & Temperature Nuclear Energy ... and so much more . This volume provides readers with the necessary information to learn about and fully understand the major concepts in physical science. This volume will be a welcome addition to science collections of all sizes.
Call Number: Reference: Q158.5 .P75Pub. date: 2017
