Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Articles & Databases

Best Bets

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world.
Covers agricultural economics, engineering, and products; animal sciences; biodiversity; biotechnology; botany; climate change; conservation; and cytology.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Subject coverage:
Aquaculture
Aquatic organisms
Astrophysics
Atmospheric dynamics
Climatology
Conservation (soil, water, and wildlife)
Environmental quality
Extraterrestrial geology
Fish and fisheries
Forecasting
Geochemistry
Geochronology
Geology
Geophysics
Glaciology
Hydrogeology and hydrology
Limnology
Marine biotechnology
Marine, freshwater and brackish water environments
Meteorology
Mineralogy and crystallography
Natural hazards
Oceanography
Paleontology
Petrology
Pollution (air and water)
Remote sensing
Seismology
Stratigraphy
Upper atmosphere
Weather
Environmental Studies & Policy (OneFile) This link opens in a new window
GALE - Covers environmental issues and policies. Includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - Environmental database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

Additional Databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window
EBSCO -Index/abstract of materials related to agriculture. Includes journals, theses, technical reports, software, patents, audiovisual materials, monographs and other agricultural materials. Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - (1926-current) Abstracts of international journal literature in life science and biomedical research.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Provides abstract/full-text of a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Physical Sciences & Mathematics Commons This link opens in a new window
(Free) Physical Sciences & Mathematics Commons is an Open Access repository of science and math literature from universities all over the world.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1986-current) Covers astronomy, aerospace, biology, chemistry, computers, earth science, engineering, mathematics, and physics.

Citing Your Sources

The style mainly used for Environmental Studies is:

ACS (American Chemical Society) Style

However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.

How to Find Environmental Studies eBooks

Click on a subject to see eBooks:

Prefer the retro feel of a book in your hands? Browse the library shelves in the GE and Q section. Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>

Have more questions?

Stephanie Hallam

Email Me

Contact:
115 Cowles Library
509.777.4483