History- World - History - World - Research Guides at Whitworth University

Key Article Databases

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
(1991-current month) A source for theory and research in international affairs in full-text from Columbia University Press.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline - Covers 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

New York Times Historical with Index This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1851-2020) The Historical New York Times with Index - includes full-text & page images.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
GALE - Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
London Times Digital Archives 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
GALE - Archive of The Times from London covering two and a half centuries of content. Includes from the earliest issue to five years previous of current year.
Chinese Newspapers Collection: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1832-1953) Historical newspaper provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events in China.
American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Full text of scientific journals and popular magazines printed between 1740 to 1940. Titles range from general interest magazines, women's journals, children's issues and scholarly publications.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Readex -Articles and full-text books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Subjects include agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, and religion.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700. Books from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
GALE - Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
GALE - Original accounts of exploration, trade colonialism, slavery, military actions and more from 1500 to the early 1900's. Covers North, South & Central America and the West Indies.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

World History in Video
Alexander Street Press. Provides streaming video access to hundreds of hours of documentaries on a wide range of world history subjects.
more...less...
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries.
Ethnographic Video Online
Alexander Street Press - covers Africa, Middle East, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and other global regions.

Images from JSTOR formerly ArtStor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 1 million images from a wide range of cultures and time periods and historical photographs from around the world. Now searchable from within JSTOR.

Pimsleur Language Audio Books
Pimsleur provides self-paced audio courses in a variety of languages.

A Dictionary of World History (2 ed.)
Oxford University Press
World Encyclopedia
Oxford University Press
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (3 ed.)
Oxford University Press. Entries on the most important people, organizations and events that have shaped our history from 1900 to the present day.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Oxford University Press - available in paper at REF HQ1121.O93 2008
The Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names (2 ed.)
Oxford University Press. History, meanings, and origin of country, region, island, city, and town names from around the world.
A Guide to Countries of the World (3 ed.)
Oxford University Press