Historical Newpapers Online at Whitworth
- Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new windowGALE - Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- London Times Digital Archives 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowGALE - Archive of The Times from London covering two and a half centuries of content. Includes from the earliest issue to five years previous of current year.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1832-1953) Historical newspaper provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events in China.
- American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full text of scientific journals and popular magazines printed between 1740 to 1940. Titles range from general interest magazines, women's journals, children's issues and scholarly publications.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowReadex -Articles and full-text books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Subjects include agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, and religion.
Historical Newspapers Elsewhere
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Source: National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress
- Washington (State) Historical NewspapersWashington State Library - Digitized collection of Washington newspapers. (years covered 1852-1922)
- Free Historical Newspapers Online from Ancestory HuntHistorical newspaper articles are available from thousands of links to free newspaper sites. Divided by state and type of sources.
- Google NewsIncludes roughly 2,000 historic newspapers scanned from around the world, including the Spokesman-Review. Articles are searchable by news source, source location, and/or author, and can be limited by date.
- Online Historical Newspapers WebsiteLists of newspaper from US, Canada and a few other areas that are available online with links to individual titles and whether the newspaper is available free or for a fee.
Newspaper Information Resources
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowDetailed information on cross-disciplinary periodicals worldwide includes address, price and type from scholarly journals to e-journals and newsletters.
- Guide to Proquest Historical Newspaperscontent, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform