Librarian
CSE (Council of Science Editors) Style
This style is often used in the Natural Sciences, especially Biology. It was formerly called CBE Style (Council of Biology Editors).
- CSE Manual 9th Edition The CSE Manual presents 3 systems for referring to references (also known as citations) within the text of a journal article, book, or other scientific publication: (1) citation–sequence, (2) name–year, and (3) citation–name. These abbreviated references are called in-text references. They refer to a list of references at the end of the document.
- CSE Style Quick Guide Source: Washington State University Library
Best Bets Databases
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - (1926-current) Abstracts of international journal literature in life science and biomedical research.
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Provides abstract/full-text of a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Additional Databases
- arXivOpen Access - Million+ e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University.
- Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1960-current) Covers engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology in scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- Life Sciences Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) Life Sciences Commons is an Open Access repository of life sciences literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - (1950's-current) Biomedical journal abstracts for medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Also available in public Web Version. Searches abstracts of over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- PLoS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window(Free) PLoS is a nonprofit publisher of peer-reviewed open access articles primarily in biology and medicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window(Free) PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1986-current) Covers astronomy, aerospace, biology, chemistry, computers, earth science, engineering, mathematics, and physics.