Selecting Journals & Their Impact
Locate resources to select a journal for publication based on focus and handling time for submissions as well as tools to document scholarship value in promotion and tenure.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and a good starting point for identifying quality, peer reviewed open access material. DOAJ also provides a "Best Practices" for publishers, which can be useful when evaluating journals for quality.
- Eigenfactor Eigenfactor scores measures the journal's importance to the scientific community. Searchable by journal name and subject category. Includes open access, science, social science, and medical journals.
- Google Scholar Matrics Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research. To get started, you can browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics. You can also explore publications in research areas of your interest. To browse publications in a broad area of research, select one of the areas in the left column. For example: Engineering & Computer Science or Health & Medical Sciences. To explore specific research areas, select one of the broad areas, click on the "Subcategories" link and then select one of the options. For example: Databases & Information Systems or Development Economics. Browsing by research area is, as yet, available only for English publications. You can, of course, search for specific publications in all languages by words in their titles.
- JournalGuide JournalGuide uses a “whitelist” approach, indexing known journals of quality and providing information on scope, how quickly the journal reviews and publishes papers, where the journal is indexed, open access options, page charges and more. JournalGuide also provides links directly to a journals “instructions for authors” page and provides time from submission to acceptance for some journals.
- Journal Impact Factor by Clarivate Analytics Here is the latest Impact Factor List of 2022 provided by the Journal Citation Report (JCR). It contains over 12000 Journals. JCR was earlier published as Science Citation Index, and now it is published by Clarivate Analytics, a Web of Science Group.
- Journal Targeter (Jot) Explore journals matched to your manuscript's title, abstract and references based on journals indexed in Medline.
- Mendeley Mendeley is a reference management tool that can be used to manage citations. In addition, it documents readership of an article over time based on discipline and seniority among users of Mendeley.
- SciRev Discover submission time for 850 journals in science, social science, and humanities.
- Scopus Scopus covers nearly 36,377 titles from approximately 11,678 publishers, of which 34,346 are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. All journals covered in the Scopus database, regardless of who they are published under, are reviewed each year to ensure high-quality standards are maintained.
- SJR: Scimago Journal & Country Rank The SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator is a measure of the scientific influence of scholarly journals that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journals where the citations come from. Includes H Index, citations, and more.
Business Specific Resources
- Australia Business Dean Council The Australian Business Deans Council’s (ABDC) Journal Quality List is a journal ranking exercise undertaken by the Council that divides different business journals into four categories of quality: A*, A, B, C.
- Hazing: Research in International Management Quality List The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard. We would be concerned if the list were used for staff evaluation purposes in a mechanistic way. The list was originally collated while the editor was associated with the Bradford University School of Management (1997-2001). Since then, the list has been updated and extended periodically to keep it current. Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the Journal Quality List, we recommend that it be checked before used extensively for evaluation purposes. The editor will not be held responsible for omissions or errors. The current version of the JQL contains 10 different rankings of more than 950 journals.
- SJR: Scimago Journal & Country Rank The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately. Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (313 specific subject categories) or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 34,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide. The SJCR allows you also to embed significative journal metrics into your web as a clickable image widget
Scholarly Communications Toolkit
The Association of College & Research Libraries created a Toolkit for evaluating journals and guiding scholarship decisions.
- ACRL Scholarly CommunicationsToolkit The Toolkit was designed to provide its users with a basic understanding of scholarly communication issues in the context of their impact upon libraries. Evaluate journals and measure impact
Understanding Impact Factor
When looking at impact factors, remember to compare journals of the same discipline. Raw numbers are not helpful without context.
- What is a good impact factor of a journal? Explanation of how to calculate the impact factor of a journal and how to interpret that factor when comparing journals.
Manuscript Matching Tools
Looking for a journal to publish your manuscript? Explore these resources.
- Clarivate Manuscript Matcher (Web of Science / EndNote) Find relevant, reputable journals for potential publication of your research based on an analysis of tens of millions of citation connections in Web of Science Core Collection using Manuscript Matcher.
- Edanz Journal Selector Search over 28,654 journals and 12,010,643 abstracts to find the journal that's right for you
- Elsevier® Journal Finder Enter title and abstract of your paper to easily find journals that could be best suited for publishing. JournalFinder uses smart search technology and field-of-research specific vocabularies to match your paper to scientific journals.
- IEEE Publication Recommender Find the best match for your scholarly article. Compare critical points such as Impact Factor and Submission-To-Publication Time
- Jane (Journal/Author Name Estimator) Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
- JournalGuide Search, filter, sort, and compare journals from more than 46,000 titles
- LetPub's Journal Selector Browse and filter over 10,000 journals across a tremendous range of parameters.
- SAGE Journal Recommender [Beta] Find relevant journals for your manuscript, verify against aims & scope, and submit to one directly
- SPI-Hub Identify journals in which to publish your research
- Springer/Nature Journal Suggester Journal matching technology finds relevant journals based on your manuscript details
- Taylor & Francis Author Services Choosing a journal for your research can seem daunting, but it doesn’t need to be. By asking some simple questions you can quickly narrow your focus. Read on for further information and guidance to make sure that the top reason editors give for rejecting articles – that authors have submitted to the wrong journal – doesn’t apply to you.
- Wiley Journal Finder Enter your paper's title and abstract, and matching engine will suggest relevant journals for you to consider, based on your manuscript details.