Research Guides: Chemistry: Internet Resources

Chemical Compounds, Periodical Tables, & Equations

KnowledgeDoor KnowledgeDoor, an open access virtual depot of constants, conversion factors, and mathematical equations,
Periodic Tables of Videos A collection of video clips covering the 118 elements in the periodic table. From hydrogen to ununoctium, each element has its own short video.
Photographic Periodic Table of the Elements Offers quick and easy factual information about the elements. Also includes images.
WebElements: the periodic table on the web
WolframAlpha Wolfram|Alpha is a unique engine for computing answers and providing knowledge in all scientific disciplines.

Chemical Information Sources A structured textbook of chemical information.
Chemistry Central Open Access journals from the publisher Springer.
ChemRxiv ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
Consumer Product Information Database Health effects of consumer products.
NIST Chemistry WebBook An authoritative database (by the former National Bureau of Standards) representing critical evaluation of relevant data by experts. Broad coverage including thermochemistry for 5,000 compounds, ion energetics for 14,000 compounds, and more.
PubChem National Center for Biotechnology Information. Biological activities of small molecules - chemical structures, chemical substance records and bio assay records.
What is an SDS? Safety Data Sheets (formerly Materials Safety Data Sheets [MSDS]). Per OSHA, the SDS includes information such as the properties of each chemical; the physical, health, and environmental health hazards; protective measures; and safety precautions for handling, storing, and transporting the chemical.
Chem Collective The ChemCollective contains a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials.

American Chemical Society
American Peptide Society
The Electrochemical Society
Nobel Prize in Chemistry Information about the Nobel Prize and biographical information about prize winners.
Royal Society of Chemistry
Science History Institute The Science History Institute was formed by the merger of the Chemical Heritage Foundation and the Life Sciences Foundation.