Articles & Databases
- American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new windowFull text dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
- Biochemistry Abstracts 1 This link opens in a new windowProQuest -Abstracts of journal articles on biological membranes and biochemistry from 1981-1993.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowEBSCO -Abstracts of international journal literature in life science and biomedical research from 1926 to current.
- Physical Sciences & Mathematics Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) Physical Sciences & Mathematics Commons is an Open Access repository of science and math literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window(Free) PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1980's -current) Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, earth science, engineering, mathematics, and physics.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowIn addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. See 'more' for registration info.
Scholarly Communication
ACS Guide to Scholary Commuication by
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. The new Guide covers all instructions from previous editions of The ACS Style Guide - completely updated and modernized - as well as a wealth of brand new chapters covering everything from preprints, Open Access, machine-readable data, and much more.
Call Number: eBookPub. date: 2020
Write like a chemist : a guide and resource by
Write Like a Chemist is a unique guide to chemistry-specific writing. Written with National Science Foundation support and extensively piloted in chemistry courses nationwide, it offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199719457Pub. date: 2008
Searching for a Compound
There are many ways you can describe a compound in order to search for it within a database. Consider your options and what types of descriptions the particular database will accept. If you get zero results, try another way before moving on to another resource.
Chemical name/synonyms
Common/trivial name
Molecular formula
Empirical formula
Structure
CAS Registry Number
For example, consider ethanol:
ethanol
ethyl alcohol
ethyl hydroxide
C2H6O
H3C-CH2-OH
CAS# 64-17-15
Citing Your Sources
The style mainly used for Chemistry is:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find Chemistry eBooks
Click on a subject to see eBooks:
Prefer the retro feel of a book in your hands? Browse the library shelves in the QD section. Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
