Locate Print and eBooks
Locate Print Books
Whitworth Library uses the Library of Congress classification system. Math and Computer Science books are located in both the main collection and reference (non-circulating) collection shelved under:
- Q Science
- QA Mathematics
- T Technology
- TK Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
Math and Computer Science eBooks
Reference Resources
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics 6 ed by
Entries cover both pure and applied mathematics, and include key theories, concepts, methods, programmes, people, and terminology. For this sixth edition, around 800 new terms have been defined, expanding on the dictionary's coverage of topics such as algebra, differential geometry, algebraic geometry, representation theory, and statistics. Among this new material are articles such as cardinal arithmetic, first fundamental form, Lagrange's theorem, Navier-Stokes equations, potential, and splitting field. The existing entries have also been revised and updated to account for developments in the field. Numerous supplementary features complement the text, including detailed appendices on basic algebra, areas and volumes, trigonometric formulae, and Roman numerals. Newly added to these sections is a historical timeline of significant mathematicians lives and the emergence of key theorems. There are also illustrations, graphs, and charts throughout the text, as well as useful web links to provide access to further reading.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198845355Pub. date: 2021
The CRC encyclopedia of mathematics by Call Number: Reference QA5 .W45 2009
A Dictionary of Computer Science 7 ed by
Previously named A Dictionary of Computing, this bestselling dictionary has been renamed A Dictionary of Computer Science. Containing over 6,500 entries and with expanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computer science, it is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject and is as valuable for home and office users as it is indispensable for students of computer science. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner with helpful examples where relevant. The dictionary contains approximately 150 new entries including cloud computing, cross-site scripting, iPad, semantic attack, smartphone, and virtual learning environment. Recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Computer Science companion website, provide valuable further information and the appendices include useful resources such as generic domain names, file extensions, and the Greek alphabet. This dictionary is suitable for anyone who uses computers, and is ideal for students of computer science and the related fields of IT, maths, physics, media communications, electronic engineering, and natural sciences.
Call Number: eBookPub. date: 2016
A Dictionary of the Internet by
This dictionary provides thousands of terms related to the Web, software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure of the Internet.
Call Number: eBookPub. date: 2019
Encyclopedia of computer science and technology by Call Number: Reference QA76.15 .H43 2009
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society by
A fascinating exploration of how mathematics affects our daily lives in sociological, economic, and historical perspectives. Mathematics is at the root of modern civilization, from measuring temperature on a frigid day to driving a car to using a digital camera; enthusiasts might say applied mathematics rules the world. The Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society presents some 490 articles showing the math behind our daily lives, explaining to students how and why math works, and allowing readers to better understand how disciplines such as algebra, geometry, calculus, and others affect what we do every day. This outstanding reference is appropriate for both high school and undergraduate programs, making the content readily accessible to public library patrons as well.
Call Number: eBook and Reference: QA10.7 .E53Pub. date: 2012
Handbook of international research in mathematics education by Call Number: Reference QA11.2 .H36 2008
Principles of Cybersecurity by
Introduction to technologies and controls that protect our hardware, software, and data from cyber threats. With everything from schools to financial accounts to vital infrastructure under threat from various bad actors, technological advances require constant new approaches to keep our businesses running, our sensitive information out of the hands of cyber criminals, and our data safe. The recent shift to remote work has increased vulnerability to cyber disruptions. The costs to societies and individuals of cyberattacks are mounting, with the FBI reporting 2022 US losses of over $10.3 billion. Although newer tools like artificial intelligence can help with predicting cyberattacks before they occur-something traditional security professionals find challenging-these methods can also be used by hackers to learn about and exploit weaknesses in a system. Students and researchers wishing to gain a solid background in cybersecurity and related fields will find this volume an invaluable resource to developing a deeper and meaningful understanding of this important and evolving topic.
Call Number: eBook and Reference: QA76.9.A25 P67ISBN: 1637007507Pub. date: 2024- Principles of Robotics and Artificial Intelligence by
This volume provides readers with the important information they need to understand the basic concepts of artificial intelligence as well as ways that both AI and robotics can be successfully incorporated into manufacturing, transportation, education, and medicine. More than 120 easy-to-understand entries, many with illustrations and hotographs to enhance understanding, cover topics related to such important concepts in artificial intelligence and robotics.
Call Number: Reference: TJ211 .P7525Pub. date: 2023
