Locate Print and eBooks
Locate Print Books
Whitworth Library uses the Library of Congress classification system. Physics books are located in both the main collection and reference (non-circulating) collection shelved under:
- Q Science
- QC Physics
Physics eBook Searches
Reference Resources
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds (now over 20,000) and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts.
Call Number: Reference: QD65 .C73Pub. date: 2018
A Dictionary of Astronomy by
The revised second edition of this established dictionary contains over 4,300 up-to-date entries on all aspects of astronomy. Compiled with the help of thirty-four expert contributors under the editorship of renowned author Ian Ridpath, the book covers everything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time--plus biographical entries on eminent astronomers and worldwide coverage of observatories and telescopes. The appendices include tables of Apollo lunar landing missions, the constellations, and a table of planetary data. The entries have been fully revised and updated and fifty new entries have been added. The content is enhanced by web links which are regularly updated on a companion website.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0199609055Pub. date: 2012
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This new edition includes 10,000 entries which cover all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added, and include expanded coverage of planetary geology and earth-observing-satellites. Other new entries terms such as Ianammox, Boomerangian, earth rheological layering, and metamorphic rock classification. The entries are also complemented by more than 130 diagrams and numerous web links that are listed on a regularly updated dedicated companion website. Appendices supplement the A-Z and have been extended to include three new tables on the Torino Impact Hazard Scale, Avalanche Classes, and the Volcanic Explosivity Index. The list of satellite missions has also been revised and updated to include recent developments. A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences is an authoritative, and jargon-free resource for students of geology, geography, geosciences, physical science, and those in related disciplines.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0198839030Pub. date: 2020
A Dictionary of Physics by
Now with over 4,000 entries, this new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including "Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment", "kilonova", "leptoquark", and "muscovium". The dictionary's range of appendices, updated for the new edition, includes the periodic table, the electromagnetic spectrum, and a detailed chronology of key dates. 15 new diagrams add to the clarity and accessibility of the text, with 150 line drawings, tables, and graphs in total, and many entries contain recommended web links.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0198821476Pub. date: 2019
A dictionary of space exploration by
This dictionary covers all aspects of space exploration, from A-Train to Zvezda. This jargon-free new edition has been fully revised and updated to take into account the new developments in space exploration on an international scale, with new entries such as Hitomi, Space X Dragon, and Ariane 5 Rocket. All entries are fully cross-referenced for ease of use. In addition, the dictionary also contains links to over 250 space-related websites, and a comprehensive chronology of space exploration.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0191842761Pub. date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, Second Edition by
In over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the circulation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather events from extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes. New to this edition are articles on headline-grabbing topics that include the Kyoto Protocol, global warming, tradable permits, and extreme weather.Each entry is fully cross-referenced, to both definitions of weather- and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study. Over 300 photographs, maps, and charts offer highly evocative depictions of various weather and climate conditions around the world and across time. The Encyclopedia is also equipped with historical examples of disasters caused by bad weather, milestones in the development of the atmospheric sciences, and the geological time scale, making it a comprehensive and authoritative resource for anyone doing research in this area or working in the field.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199765324Pub. date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Energy by
This academic, multi-author reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of energy; to appreciate the influence of energy on societies around the world; to learn the history of energy; and to initiate educational discussion brought forth by the specific social and topical articles presented in the work. SCOPE AND COVERAGE From Alaska to China to Brazil and around the world, energy is the fuel of modern civilization. The United States alone, which constitutes 5 percent of the world's population, consumes 24 percent of the world's energy. Tracing the routes and roots of energy through history, especially since the Industrial Revolution, and explaining the current levels of energy use and production across the globe, this four-volume encyclopaedia will be the definitive reference to essential energy and power information. From "clean coal" to oil to windpower, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, the Encyclopedia of Energy is a world round-up of energy-related curricular disciplines, including: history, sociology, environmentalism, public policy, science, engineering, and business.
Call Number: eBook and Reference: TJ163.16 .E33ISBN: 9781587658495Pub. date: 2012
Encyclopedia of space and astronomy by Call Number: Reference QB136 .A55 2006
Principles of Physical Science by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of physical science. The volume begins with an introduction to the field, followed by over 100 detailed entries. Entries range from 1-5 pages in length and include a detailed overview of the topic, written in clear, understandable language. Entries also include key terms, related fields and are further supplemented with photos, illustrations, charts, models and diagrams. Coverage in this volume is diverse, providing helpful guidance to the full spectrum of physical science studies, including: Properties & States of Matter Properties of Elements Chemical Bonding & Equations Gravity Force, Motion & Power Energy Electricity Magnetic Forces Heat & Termperature Nuclear Energy ... and so much more . This volume provides readers with the necessary information to learn about and fully understand the major concepts in physical science.
Call Number: Reference: Q158.5 .P75ISBN: 1682173267Pub. date: 2017
