New Search
Locate Print books
Whitworth Library uses the Library of Congress classification system. Education books are located in both the main collection and reference (non-circulating) collection shelved under:
- L Education (General)
- LA History of education
- LB Theory and practice of education
- LC Special aspects of education
- LD-LG Individual Institutions
- LJ Student fraternities and societies, United States
- LT Textbooks
Education eBook Searches
Click on a subject to see eBooks:
Reference Resources
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom ManagementCall Number: REF LB3013 .S23 2015ISBN: 97814522413952 volumes
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education by
Online education, both by for-profit institutions and within traditional universities, has seen recent tremendous growth and appeal - but online education has many aspects that are not well understood. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Educationprovides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses--with a central focus on the effective education of students.
Call Number: eBook and REF: LB1044.87 .S24ISBN: 1483318354Pub. date: 2016
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by
The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the second edition, and this third edition of the handbook takes care to address the entirety of vital new developments. A valuable tool for all those who work and study in the field of early childhood education, this volume addresses critical, cutting edge research on child development, curriculum, policy, and research and evaluation strategies.
Call Number: eBook and REF: LB1119 .H25ISBN: 9780415884341Pub. date: 2013
The Praeger Handbook of Learning and the Brain by
Nearly 100 entries describe current brain research as it relates to education and the relationship between the brain and learning and instructional strategies is examined. Over 100 authors, many of whom are leaders in their field, contribute to this work covering the cognitive, social/emotional, and physical aspects of learning as the brain develops. Topics cover the following areas: brain development, learning, curriculum, at-risk, classroom management, culture, emotion, foods, intelligence, learning environments, learning challenges, learning theories, and physical movement. Focus is on K-12 education, but also includes information on the pre-school and adult learner. Cross references and recommended further readings conclude each entry. Supplemental reference sources include a glossary devoted to the brain and an extensive bibliography.
Call Number: REF: LB1060 .P683ISBN: 9780313339806Pub. date: 2006
The Praeger International Handbook of Special Education by
This handbook provides a concise overview of special education services in countries across the world, using the Article on Education in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities as the analytical frame. The Praeger International Handbook of Special Education presents a concise and clear overview of special education services in more than 70 countries across the world using the Article on Education in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with disabilities as the analytical frame. Each chapter offers information about the country in general, followed by sections on the public education system, the private education system, the special education system, teacher training requirements, and barriers to and promising trends in inclusive and special education. The volumes and chapters are organized by the United Nations Geoscheme, with Volume 1 including an overview of the volumes and chapters on countries in the Americas, Volume 2 addressing countries from Europe and Africa, and Volume 3 focusing on countries in Asia and Oceania. This is the most complete exploration of the delivery of supports and services to children and youth with disabilities across the globe available. The volumes do not compare among or between countries, but rather provide a baseline for understanding current special education practices and their relationship with general education and inclusive practices across the globe. Readers will come away with an in-depth understanding of what is happening with regard to the implementation of special education services and Article 24 of the Convention for the Rights of People with Disabilities. This valuable reference set serves researchers, graduate students, and policymakers in special and general education as well as professionals focused on issues of education worldwide and scholars focused on international special education. As such, this handbook will be an important reference source for university libraries, professional associations, and policy entities.
Call Number: REF: 9781440831140ISBN: 9781440831140Pub. date: 2017-06-15
