Open Educational Resources (OER)
Open Educational Resources (OER)
are resources that have been released under creative commons license or in the public domain and permit no-cost access, use, adaptation, copying and sharing.
These are curriculum and educational resources you can freely use as an educator.
Sample Lesson Plan Websites
- C-SPAN ClassroomResources for teaching of social studies through C-SPAN’s primary source programming and websites.
- Federal Reserve Bank: Instructional ResourcesResources for Teachers & Students in Economics and Personal Finance
- History MattersDesigned for high school and college teachers and students, the site serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.
- Civics Lab by Spokane County Library DistrictResources for teaching high school social studies, civics or history. National issues that includes information tailored to Spokane or Washington State (Spokane County Library Card needed)
Databases for K-12 Students
- eLibrary This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full text, general reference database designed for K-12 students. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, pictures, web links and AV files.
- Primary SearchEBSCO - Full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Primary Search provides students with encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. In addition, the database includes full-text popular magazines including Ladybug and Spider. Other magazines include Highlights and Junior Scholastic.
- Middle Search PlusEBSCO - Full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags. Full-text magazines include Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, and National Geographic.
- MAS UltraEBSCO - Full-text database designed for high school libraries of popular magazines, reference books and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science and health. It also includes and over a million photos, maps and flags.
Certification Exam Resources
Resources for assisting in the preparation of edTPA ePortfolios
Local Teaching Guidelines
- Education Service District 101Information for the 59 NE Washington school districts.
- Revised Code of Washington Title 28A: Common School ProvisionsOnline access to all Washington State laws having to do with public education in the state.
- Common Core ResourcesResources designed to help improve understanding of the standards and their underlying premises by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) and the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center).