Sex and Gender: Christian Ethical Reflections by Mary Jo Iozzio (Editor)Sex and Gender: Christian Ethical Reflections contains some of the subject's most important analyses in recent decades. The collection covers a wide range of topics: same-sex marriage, sexual minorities and biblical interpretation, sex and power, sexual harassment and sexual abuse, HIV/AIDS and prevention strategy, the military and masculinities, mobile porn and sexting, human trafficking, moral discernment, and more.
Call Number: HQ32 .S395 2017
Culturally Proficient Instruction by Kikanza J. Nuri-Robins (Editor)Culturally proficient instruction is the result of an inside-out journey of teaching and learning during which you explore your values and behaviours while evaluating the policies and practices of your workplace. The journey deepens your understanding of yourself and your community of practice.
Antigay Bias in Role-Model Occupations by E. Gary SpitkoFrom the first game of the National League of Professional Baseball Clubs on April 22, 1876, tens of thousands of men have played professional sports in the Big Four--baseball, basketball, football, and hockey--major professional sports leagues in the United States. Until April 29, 2013, however, when National Basketball Association center Jason Collins came out publicly as gay, not one of those tens of thousands of men had ever come out to the public as gay while an active player on a major league roster. Is it because gay men can't jump (or throw, or catch, or skate)? Or is it more likely that the costs of coming out are too high? In Antigay Bias in Role-Model Occupations, E. Gary Spitko argues that in the case of athletes, and others in role-model occupations, a record of widespread and frequently systematic employment discrimination has been excluding gay people from the public social spaces that identify and teach whom society respects and whom members of society should seek to emulate. Creating a typology of role models--lawyers/judges, soldiers, teachers, politicians, athletes, and clergy--and the positive values and character traits associated with them, Spitko demonstrates how employment discrimination has been used for the purpose of perpetuating the generally accepted notion that gay people are inferior because they do not possess the requisite qualities--integrity, masculinity, morality, representativeness, all-American-ness, and blessedness--associated with employment in these occupations. Combining the inspirational stories of LGBT trailblazers with analysis of historical data, anecdotal evidence, research, and literature, Antigay Bias in Role-Model Occupations is the first book to explore in a comprehensive fashion the broad effects of sexual orientation discrimination in role-model occupations well beyond its individual victims.
Call Number: KF3467.5 .S67 2017
Classroom Communication and Diversity by Robert G. Powell; Dana L. PowellClassroom Communication and Diversity encourages teachers to reflect on how their personal cultures influence their expectations regarding classroom communication.Updates to this edition are: Expanded coverage of students with diverse needs; Discussion on working effectively with parents; Coverage of cultural influences and the impact of race and ethnicity on disciplinary actions; Examination of the role of social media and its impact on instructional communication; The increase of educational technology use.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .P69 2016
Trans* in College by Z. NicolazzoThis is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders.
Call Number: LC2574.6 .N52 2017
Diversity Across the Curriculum by Ellen R. Cohn (Editor)This practical guide will empower even the busiest faculty members to create culturally inclusive courses and learning environments. In a collection of more than 50 vignettes, exceptional teachers from a wide range of academic disciplines health sciences, humanities, sciences, and social sciences describe how they actively incorporate diversity into their teaching.
Call Number: LC3727 .D538 2007
Gender and Sexual Diversity in U. S. Higher Education by Dafina-Lazarus Stewart (Editor)Since 2005, research on identity development, campus climate and policies, transgender issues, and institutional features such as type, leadership, and campus resources has broadened to encompass LGBTQ student engagement and success. This volume includes this enlarged body of research on LGBTQ students, taken in the context of widespread changes in public attitudes and public policies related to LGBTQ people, integrating scholarship and student affairs practice.
Specific foci include: transgender identity development, understanding intersections of sexual orientation and gender identity with other salient identities such as faith/religion/spirituality, race, social class, and ability, and studies about LGBTQ students in special-mission institutions (for example, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, religiously affiliated institutions, or women's colleges).
Call Number: LB1027.5 .N48 no.152 2015
Transforming the Academy by Sarah Willie-LeBreton (Editor)In recent decades, American universities have begun to tout the "diversity" of their faculty and student bodies. But what kinds of diversity are being championed in their admissions and hiring practices, and what kinds are being neglected? Is diversity enough to solve the structural inequalities that plague our universities? And how might we articulate the value of diversity in the first place? Transforming the Academy begins to answer these questions by bringing together a mix of faculty--male and female, cisgender and queer, immigrant and native-born, tenured and contingent, white, black, multiracial, and other--from public and private universities across the United States. Whether describing contentious power dynamics within their classrooms or recounting protests that occurred on their campuses, the book's contributors offer bracingly honest inside accounts of both the conflicts and the learning experiences that can emerge from being a representative of diversity. The collection's authors are united by their commitment to an ideal of the American university as an inclusive and transformative space, one where students from all backgrounds can simultaneously feel intellectually challenged and personally supported. Yet Transforming the Academy also offers a wide range of perspectives on how to best achieve these goals, a diversity of opinion that is sure to inspire lively debate.
Call Number: LB2331 .T73 2016
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice by Maurianne Adams (Editor)Features new to this edition include: A new bridging chapter focusing on the core concepts that need to be included in all SJE practice and illustrating ways of "getting started" teaching foundational core concepts and processes. A new chapter addressing the possibilities for adapting social justice education to online and blended courses. Expanded overview sections that highlight the historical contexts and legacies of oppression, opportunities for action and change, and the intersections among forms of oppression. Added coverage of key topics for teaching social justice issues,
such as establishing a positive classroom climate, institutional and social manifestations of oppression, the global implications of contemporary SJE work, and action steps for addressing injustice.
Call Number: LC196.5.U6 T43 2016
Driving Change Through Diversity and Globalization by James A. AndersonThis book significantly advances discussion of the mission of higher education in today s multicultural environment and global economy. It sets out the challenges and considerations that must be addressed by administrative leaders, by trustees, and others who shape the vision and direction of the institution but most particularly by academic deans and faculty.The author makes the case that the inclusion of a diversity and globalization in disciplinary work contributes to the research agendas of individual faculty and their departments, aligns with scholarly values, and promotes such student learning goals as tolerance of ambiguity and paradox, critical thinking and creativity. He offers a strategic vision of success, backed by theory and examples of effective application, for creating transformative change; and provides a roadmap to implementing inclusive pedagogical practices and curricula. With implementation dependent on leadership and participation at every level of an institution, everyone with a stake in its future should read this book."