Key Article Databases
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - Citation index of diverse materials related to language and literature, including scholarly articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations. Compiled by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes some full-text content.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR - Full-text database of back issues of scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects. Most recent one to seven years of journals will not be available.
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST – Full-text database, focusing on scholarly journals in the areas of art, history, literature, music and other disciplines in the arts and humanities.
-
Arts & Humanities Commons This link opens in a new windowOPEN ACCESS – Full-text repository, focusing on scholarly articles in the areas of history, religion, literature, music and other disciplines in the arts and humanities. Open access resources may become unavailable or present issues with discoverability.
Books and E-books
-
Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesA collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.
-
The Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceThis dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
-
A Dictionary of English Manuscript Terminology 1450–2000Oxford University Press. Terms relating to manuscripts and their production and use in Britain from 1450 to the present day.
-
Atlas of the Medieval World
by
Call Number: Reference D117 .M35 2004ISBN: 0195221583Pub. date: 2004 -
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
by
Call Number: Reference D114 .E53 2000ISBN: 1579582826Pub. date: 2001 -
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
by
Call Number: Reference PN669 .E53 2000ISBN: 0313300542Pub. date: 2000 -
Science in the Ancient World
by
Call Number: Reference Q124.95 .L39 2021Pub. date: 2021Science in the Ancient World presents a worldwide history of science, from prehistoric times through the medieval period. It covers Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Americas and includes topics ranging from alchemy and astrology to psychology and physics. -
Defining Documents in World History: Renaissance & Early Modern Era
by
Call Number: Reference CB361 .R46 2017ISBN: 168217297XPub. date: 2017 -
The Routledge Research Companion to Digital Medieval Literature
by
Call Number: Reference PN671 .R68 2018ISBN: 9781138905047Pub. date: 2017
Key Internet Sites
-
Internet Medieval SourcebookDevoted to discussion and study of the Middle Ages. Includes links, listing of primary sources, maps, etc.
Source: Paul Halsall, Fordham University -
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexAn Index containing journal articles, book reviews, and book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the middle ages.
-
NetSerf: Internet Connection for Medieval ResourcesListing of Internet resources about the Middle Ages. Includes bibliographies, a glossary, links and maps.
Source: Dr. Andrea R. Harbin -
RI (Regesta Imperii) OPACThe RI OPAC is a freely accessible literature database for medieval research in the entire European language area, covering all disciplines.
Historical Sources
-
American Antiquarian Society - Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new windowEBSCO – Full-text database of historical primary sources, especially newspapers and magazines. Covers the period from 1684 to 1912.
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowREADEX - Full-text database of primary sources, including books, pamphlets, and newspapers, published in North America during the 17th and 18th centuries.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST - Page images of almost every work printed in English from 1473-1700. Includes books from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowGALE - Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - Citation index for primary source materials created in Europe before 1750, relating to the Americas. Covers European exploration, portrayals of Native American peoples, natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery.
Whitworth Departments
-
Whitworth Medieval & Early Modern Studies MinorInformation About: Courses, Events, Faculty & Staff, Medievalism, Requirements, and Research