Key Article Databases
-
ProQuest Central Premium This link opens in a new windowProQuest - This multidisciplinary database covers all major subject areas: Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - Citation index for primary source materials created in Europe before 1750, relating to the Americas. Covers European exploration, portrayals of Native American peoples, natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery.
Primary Source Databases
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowREADEX - Full-text database of primary sources, including books, pamphlets, and newspapers, published in North America during the 17th and 18th centuries.
-
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new windowGALE - Original accounts of exploration, trade colonialism, slavery, military actions and more from 1500 to the early 1900's. Covers North, South & Central America and the West Indies.
-
American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST – Primary source collection of periodicals (magazines, children’s publications, women’s journals) from 1740 to 1900.
-
American Pamphlet Series I : 1820-1922 This link opens in a new windowREADEX – Primary source collection of pamphlets, focusing on topics such as slavery, suffrage, African Americans, and Native Americans. Sourced from the New York Historical Society.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST - Page images of almost every work printed in English from 1473-1700. Includes books from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowGALE - Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.
-
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST - Full-text collection of historical documents relating to women; covers the period from 1543 to 1945. Includes primary and secondary sources.
-
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowGALE – Primary source collection of manuscripts, books, and newspapers; includes Civil War in Words & Deeds.
-
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowGALE - Includes three primary source archival collections. Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 Parts I & 2, and Religion, Reform, and Society
Internet Resources
-
UNESCO General History of AfricaThis groundbreaking work was the first of its type to present the entire history of the African continent. The collection sheds light on the pre-colonial era and interweaves Africa’s destiny with the rest of humanity’s, examining its interaction with other continents and the role of Africans in the dialogue between civilizations. The entire collection is published in eight full-text volumes.
Source: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) -
History News Network"articles written by historians on current events topics" -- website description
Books and E-books
-
Oxford History Reference Books OnlineOxford University Press - Searchable full-text reference books relating to history. Some titles are available in paper:
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World HistoryOxford University Press - available in paper at REF HQ1121.O93 2008
Multimedia
-
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST – Cross-disciplinary multi-media streaming service, including videos and music. Also includes the Karl Barth Digital Library.
-
Images (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR - Collection of images that are rights-cleared for educational use. Formerly known as ARTSTOR.
-
Smithsonian Free Image Collection2.8 million free online images from the Smithsonians Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Maps
-
Digital collections MapsHistorical maps from various periods in American history.
Source: Library of Congress -
Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionA large collection of global, country-specific, and topical maps.
Source: University of Texas at Austin -
Early Washington Maps: A Digital CollectionHistorical maps of Washington and other portions of America.
Source: Washington State University -
Maps - National GeographicIncludes world atlas, historic and contemporary maps, puzzles, and more.
Source: National Geographic -
World MapsOxford University Press, 2004. Includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps.
-
Sanborn Maps from the Library of CongressSlated to be completed in 2020 this growing collection of historic Sanborn fire maps provides rich information on localities throughout North America.
Historical Newpapers Online at Whitworth
-
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new windowGALE - Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
-
London Times Digital Archives 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowGALE - Archive of The Times from London covering two and a half centuries of content. Includes from the earliest issue to five years previous of current year.
-
Chinese Newspapers Collection: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST - Full-text database of Chinese newspapers. Covers the historical period 1832-1953.
-
American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPROQUEST – Primary source collection of periodicals (magazines, children’s publications, women’s journals) from 1740 to 1900.
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowREADEX - Full-text database of primary sources, including books, pamphlets, and newspapers, published in North America during the 17th and 18th centuries.
Help! - Libguides for Using Specific Databases
Other Guides for your research
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for History are:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find History Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- E
- America. United States
- F
- U. S. local history. British, Dutch, and French America. Latin America.
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
