Research Guides: International Studies: International Studies Home

Key Article Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank - Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, education, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, sports, STEM, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
(1991-current month) A source for theory and research in international affairs in full-text from Columbia University Press.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
GALE - Original accounts of exploration, trade colonialism, slavery, military actions and more from 1500 to the early 1900's. Covers North, South & Central America and the West Indies.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

Australia & New Zealand Database
ProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in Australia and New Zealand.

Continental Europe Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in in many European countries featuring a range of multidisciplinary topics.
Countries include France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal.
East & South Asia Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.
Latin American & Iberian Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in Latin American Countries, Spain and Portugal
Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in Middle Eastern and African Countries.

Background Notes
Provides information on geographic entities and international organizations.
Source: U.S. Department of State
World Factbook
Country Summaries and maps. Updated bi-weekly.
Source: CIA with information from many federal agencies
Country Studies
Country studies/area handbooks available full text. Detailed information on over 100 countries and regions throughout the world.
Source: Library of Congress
The World Bank: Countries & Regions
Overview of countries and regions, including: news & events, data & statistics, publications & reports, projects & programs, and other related links.
Source: The World Bank
Country Statistics from Unicef
Statistical Information on the subjects of children's rights and health worldwide.
Foreign Affairs Online
Information about international relations and domestic affairs, including links to the United States Government, the United Nations, and constitutions of other countries.
Source: Robert J. Beck, University of Virginia
UNdata
Provides access to 30 databases and over 60 million records from various UN agencies and international organizations; also includes country profiles.
Source: United Nations Statistics Division
International Data Base (IDB)
Demographic and socioeconomic statistical data for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau

World Encyclopedia
Oxford University Press
A Guide to Countries of the World (3 ed.)
Oxford University Press
The Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names (2 ed.)
Oxford University Press. History, meanings, and origin of country, region, island, city, and town names from around the world.
A Dictionary of World History (2 ed.)
Oxford University Press
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (3 ed.)
Oxford University Press. Entries on the most important people, organizations and events that have shaped our history from 1900 to the present day.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Oxford University Press - available in paper at REF HQ1121.O93 2008
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions (1 rev ed.)
Oxford University Press. Contains entries on all the major and many minor religions, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, and Taoism.
Oxford Society and Culture
Oxford University Press. Searchable full text of references related to fables, folklore and mythology.
World Flags
Oxford University Press, 2004 - a quick reference guide to national flags

World History in Video
Alexander Street Press. Provides streaming video access to hundreds of hours of documentaries on a wide range of world history subjects.
more...less...
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries.
Ethnographic Video Online
Alexander Street Press - covers Africa, Middle East, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and other global regions.

Images from JSTOR formerly ArtStor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 1 million images from a wide range of cultures and time periods and historical photographs from around the world. Now searchable from within JSTOR.

Pimsleur Language Audio Books
Pimsleur provides self-paced audio courses in a variety of languages.

African Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in Africa.
Asian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in Asia and the Far East.

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
ProQuest - Local and regional news coverage from southwest Pacific region.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in Canada.
Provides full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Middle Eastern Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in English and French from across the Arab World, Southwest Asia and surrounding countries.