Key Article Databases
- Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in Middle Eastern and African Countries.
Newspapers
- African Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in Africa.
Historical Collections
- Evangelism In Africa: Correspondence Of The Board Of Foreign Missions/1835-1910The records of the BFM (Presbyterian) provide information on social conditions and missionary work in developing nations.
Recommended Internet Resources
- African Economic OutlookThe website provides comprehensive and comparable data and analysis of 51 African economies, which account for 99 per cent of the continent’s population and 97 per cent of its economic output.
Source: African Economic Outlook - UNESCO General History of AfricaThis groundbreaking work was the first of its type to present the entire history of the African continent. The collection sheds light on the pre-colonial era and interweaves Africa’s destiny with the rest of humanity’s, examining its interaction with other continents and the role of Africans in the dialogue between civilizations. The entire collection is published in eight full-text volumes.
Source: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Books and E-Books
- A Dictionary of African MythologyOxford University Press. Provides hundreds of fascinating myths, but also recaptures their cultural contexts, in which story and storyteller, tradition and performance, all merge
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions (1 rev ed.)Oxford University Press. Contains entries on all the major and many minor religions, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, and Taoism.
- The Oxford Dictionary of IslamOxford University Press. Focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, providing a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world.
Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience by Call Number: REF DT14 .A37 2005
Economic Development in Africa Report 2012 by Call Number: Ref HC800 .E27 2012ISBN: 9789211128536Pub. date: 2013This report provides concrete policy recommendation for African policy makers and their development partners on how to promote sustainable structural information in Africa, meaning a sustainable structural transformation that integrates the relative decoupling of natural resource use and environmental impacts from the growth process.
Need Help?
Multimedia
- World History in VideoAlexander Street Press. Provides streaming video access to hundreds of hours of documentaries on a wide range of world history subjects.
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for History are:
- Turabian Style Guide Presents basic examples for both notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and parenthetical citations–reference list style (or reference list style). Source: Kate L. Turabian and The University of Chicago
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.