Research Guides: International Studies: Asian Studies

Key Article Databases

East & South Asia Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.

Historical Newspapers and Journals

Chinese Newspapers Collection: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1832-1953) Historical newspaper provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events in China.

19th Century English Language Journals of the Far East
Six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century,
more...less...
covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape.
Date Range: 1817-1901Content: 14,094 images Source Library:
The National Library of China Press

Current Journals on Asia

The Journal of Asian Studies
Published in February, May, August, and November, The Journal of Asian Studies (JAS) has long been recognized as the most authoritative and prestigious publication in the field of Asian studies.
This quarterly has been published regularly since 1941, offering Asianists a wealth of information unavailable elsewhere.
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
Founded in 1936 through the Harvard-Yenching Institute, the Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies (HJAS) disseminates research and book reviews on the humanities in Asia, focusing on the areas of China, Japan, Korea, and Inner Asia.
Journal of the American Oriental Society
The Journal of the American Oriental Society is a quarterly academic journal published by the American Oriental Society since 1843. The journal focuses on research in the languages and literatures of Asia . This tradition has come to include such subjects as philology, literary criticism, textual criticism, paleography, epigraphy, linguistics, biography, archaeology, and the history of the intellectual and imaginative aspects of Oriental civilizations, especially of philosophy, religion, folklore and art.
Education About Asia
Articles on all areas of Asia covering topics as diverse as religion, food, popular culture, geography, history, language, literature, and performing arts.

Multimedia

Ethnographic Video Online
Alexander Street Press - covers Africa, Middle East, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and other global regions.

Images from JSTOR formerly ArtStor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 1 million images from a wide range of cultures and time periods and historical photographs from around the world. Now searchable from within JSTOR.

Resources

A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization (Prof Ebrey, Univ Washington)
The goal of this "visual sourcebook" is to add to the material teachers can use to help their students understand Chinese history, culture, and society. It was not designed to stand alone; we assume that teachers who use it will also assign a textbook with basic information about Chinese history.
History of Chinese Bookbinding
The history of Chinese bookbinding has always suffered owing to a lack of material evidence. The various book formats discovered among the Dunhuang document collection provide a wealth of information previously out of reach to scholars. . . .
Hong Kong Economic and Trade Offices (HKETO)
Hong Kong Economic and Trade Offices (HKETO) in the United States of America (USA) are the permanent representatives of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (HKSARG). Our mission is to represent the HKSARG in strengthening the economic, trade, investment and cultural ties between Hong Kong and the U.S.A. Our offices in Washington, D.C., New York and San Francisco are always ready to assist you in investing, doing business or traveling in Hong Kong.
Taipei Economic and Cultural Office
The Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in New York is one of 12 offices under the Washington D.C.-based Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office (TECRO), Taiwan's de facto embassy in the United States in the absence of diplomatic ties. TECRO was established in 1979 to represent Taiwan's interests in the US.
The China Historical Geographic Information System (CHGIS)
The China Historical Geographic Information System, CHGIS, project was launched in January 2001 to establish a database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 221 BCE and 1911 CE. CHGIS provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use in spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.
Chinese Film, Chinese Media
Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (ISSN # 1520-9857), formerly Modern Chinese Literature (1984-1998), is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal devoted to the culture of modern and contemporary China, with "China" understood not in the narrow, political sense. The journal publishes on literature of all genres, film and television, popular culture, performance and visual art, print and material culture, etc.
Library Resources for Chinese Studies
This page is maintained at the
Sinological Institute, Leiden University, Netherlands,
with support from the Institute of Chinese Studies (Heidelberg University), the Berlin State Library, and the German Research Foundation.
Modern Chinese Literature and Culture
This resource center contains, among other things, bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, film, art, music, and culture and is maintained by Kirk A. Denton at the Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, The Ohio State University
The Internet Chinese Music Archive
The Great Empire of China
The Internet Chinese Music Archive
Zhongwen.com: Chinese Characters and Culture
Welcome! Alone among modern languages, Chinese integrates both meaning and pronunciation information in its characters. Zhongwen.com deciphers this rich information to help students understand, appreciate and remember Chinese characters, one of humanity's greatest and most enduring cultural achievements.
Daoist Studies Website (Queens University)
The Daoist Studies website is managed by James Miller,
Queen's School of Religion, Queen's University, Kingston, ON, Canada K7L3N6.
China Knowledge (German)
Chinaknowledge.de provides material about Chinese history and culture to a wide public, from academicians and highschool pupils to the common reader.
Early Medieval China Group (Univ of Florida)
Concerning the period of Chinese history between the end of the Han dynasty and the Sui reunification (220-589).
Nanking Massacre
An exhibition of photographs and missionary documents of the Nanking Massacre.
Source: China News Digest International, Inc.
USC East Asian Library
USC's digitized collections and research requests for the East Asian Library.
In the late 19th century, missionaries trained by the university‘s School of Theology traveled to China, Japan and Korea. In the early 20th century the university established programs of study and began the collection that is housed at this library.
The Mao Tze-tung Library
Welcome to the Mao Tse-tung (Zedong) Internet Library, Established May 1, 1997
China: Exploring the Interior 1903-1904
A collection of photographs captured by R. Harvey Sargent, from the U.S. Geological Service as part of an expedition funded by the Carnegie Institution, which capture the lifestyle of the rural Chinese in the wake of the Boxer Rebellion.
The photographs were once part of a traveling exhibit, but are digitized here for scholars.

PAIR - Portal to Asian Internet Resources
Selected, cataloged and annotated online resources on area content in the humanities and social sciences, written in English or one of 27 Asian languages.
Source: University of Wisconsin: Madison, et al.
E-Asia (University of Oregon)
Digital Library: Search for an item in the E-Asia collection. Add author, title, and/or category information then click "Search" to narrow the results.
H-Asia
H-Asia, a member of H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine. The primary purpose of H-ASIA is to enable historians and other Asia scholars to easily communicate current research and teaching interests; to discuss new articles, books, papers, approaches, methods and tools of analysis; to test new ideas and share comments and tips on teaching. H-Asia is especially committed to discussing region wide, comparative and professional issues important to scholars of Asia.
The National Bureau of Asian Research
An independent research institution focusing scholarship on the evolving strategic environment in Asia through original, policy-relevant research. Home of Asia Policy journal and podcasts on a variety of subjects. (Formerly Access Asia)
Asia Society
Asia Society is the leading global and pan-Asian organization working to strengthen relationships and promote understanding among the people, leaders, and institutions of the United States and Asia. We seek to increase knowledge and enhance dialogue, encourage creative expression, and generate new ideas across the fields of arts and culture, policy and business, and education.
International Association of Buddhist Women
Since 1987, Sakyadhita: International Association of Buddhist Women has been working to benefit Buddhist women around the world. Established at the conclusion of the 1st Sakyadhita Conference in Bodhgaya, India, in 1987, the organization has almost 2000 members and friends in 45 countries around the world. Every two years an international conference is held to bring laywomen and nuns from different countries and traditions together to share their experiences and encourage projects to improve con
UCLA Asia Pacific Center
CEAS is a part of UCLA's International Studies and Overseas Programs (ISOP) and is, together with USC's East Asian Studies Center, a U.S. Department of Education supported National Resource Center.
UCLA is among the world's leading centers for research and teaching about East Asia.
East Asian Library (University of Cal, Berkeley)
Includes: Newsletter of the East Asian Library, Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library, etc.
C.V. Starr East Asian Library (Columbia)
Including: Rare Books & Special Collections Reading Room; Exhibitions; Organizations & Institutions; News & Announcements
East Asia Library (University of Washington)
The East Asia Library at the University of Washington is located in Gowen Hall, one of the buildings in the Quad on the central campus. The East Asia Library supports the faculty and students in the Department of Asian Languages and Literature, and the China Program, the Japan Program, and the Korean Program of the Jackson School of International Studies.
Association of Asian Studies
A non-profit dedicated to the advancement of the field of Asian Studies through international exchange, networking, publications, research support, and career development.

CHANT (Chinese Ancient Texts) Database
The CHANT Web Site Reserved Area was developed by Research Centre for Chinese Ancient Texts, Institute of Chinese Studies, a division of The Chinese University of Hong Kong.
The Early China Seminar - at Columbia University
The Early China Seminar is an inter-university forum for the study of early Chinese civilization from the Neolithic period to the end of the Han Dynasty (A.D. 220). The seminar offers a multidisciplinary program, bringing together scholars from all fields related to early China—history, archaeology, art history, literature and language, religion and philosophy.
Guodian Chu Bamboo Strips Database (University of Hong Kong)
Guodian database Library The Chinese University of Hong Kong Chinese University of Hong Kong Department of Chinese Language and Literature Professor Zhang Guangyu co-production, and distribution within the international network of World Wide Web.
Institute of History and Philology (Academia Sinica)
The Institute of History and Philology (IHP) of Academia Sinica, Taipei , Taiwan is one of the most accomplished research institutions in the international Chinese studies community. It boasts an accomplished faculty, a library with rare and recent collections of Chinese history that has few rivals in the world, enormous digital collections of Chinese historical texts and images, an outstanding museum of Chinese history and an exhibition room of Taiwanese archaeology.
International Dunhuang Project
IDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programs. 500,000+ images
La Chine Ancienne
Digital Library Classics of Social Sciences library is a unique and original in the Francophone-world. It is mainly produced entirely by volunteers in cooperation with the University of Quebec.
Warring States Project
The Warring States Project is a center and international contact point for research on China's classical period (the 05th through 03rd centuries), the turbulent era which ended in 0221 with the military unification of the Chinese states. The Project's approach is based on the philological researches of Bruce and Taeko Brooks.
Classical Historiography for Chinese History
Compiled by Benjamin A. Elman 艾爾曼, Professor of East Asian Studies and History, Princeton University

Orthodoxy in China
The OFASC Store is here to fulfil the catechetical and spiritual needs of the Chinese-speaking Orthodox Christians in North America and around the world.
Monumenta Serica
The Monumenta Serica Institute is dedicated to the study of Chinese culture and to the publication of academic contributions in the field. It promotes intercultural communication in cooperation and dialogue with Chinese and Western scholars. The institute testifies to the vivid interest of the Society of the Divine Word (S.V.D.) in the Chinese people, their language, culture, and religion.
Vatican Documents – Jesuits in China
Rome not only collected the books from many foreign cultures; in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries it became the center of missionary enterprises that spanned the world. . . .
Jesuit Cemetery in China
China's Grave Memories:
In the Middle Kingdom, history is all mixed up because of so many periodic revisions, yet a serene cemetery in the center of the city proves that Beijing cannot bury its past.
By Ron Gluckman/Beijing
Catholic Diocese in China
GCatholic.com (Giga-Catholic Information) is a non-profit website aimed at providing comprehensive and useful information of the Universal Catholic Church for all Catholics in the world. Contents are faithful to the Magisterium.
Beijing's Northern Cathedral
Today's Northern Church community, officially named the St. Joseph's convent of Beijing Diocese was born from the Northern Church community and first established in 1872 by a French priest and three Chinese nuns. . . .
Holy Spirit Study Center (Hong Kong/Catholic)
The Holy Spirit Study Centre (HSSC) is an organ of the Diocese of Hong Kong. It was established in 1980 by the late Cardinal John Baptist Wu as an expression of pastoral concern for China and the Church in China. It is a research institute whose primary practical task has been to gather, store and analyze pertinent data about China that will serve to broaden understanding of the Mainland’s rapidly changing situation, and to effect appropriate Christian responses.
Dutch/Portuguese Colonial History
The site describes the fascinating history of geographical discoveries and the early colonial empires, with particular reference to the Portuguese and Dutch trading settlements in Asia, Africa and America, but without missing information and historical curiosities related to the other colonialism.

Missionary Experience - Past and Present
by Nancy A. Bunker Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 78 views this year

Need Help?

reference@whitworth.edu

509.777.4491

Come see us in the Library!

Whitworth Departments

Asian Studies Minor
Information About:
Degree Requirements & Faculty

Books and E-Books

A Dictionary of Asian Mythology
Oxford University Press. Entries address the key mythologies of the regions we now call India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan, and broad overviews of specific cultures and their mythic traditions round out the coverage.
A Dictionary of Buddhism
Oxford University Press. This dictionary features broad-ranging entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West, and coverage of issues of contemporary concern such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, "engaged Buddhism", and the role of women in Buddhist teachings.
A Dictionary of Hinduism
Oxford University Press. Covers major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts.
A Dictionary of World Mythology
Oxford University Press. Presents the powerful gods of Greece, Rome, and Scandinavia, the more mystical deities of Buddhist and Hindu India, and the stern spirits of the African and American continents.
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology
Oxford University Press. Essays on the world's major mythological traditions, along with re-tellings of better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures, and related subjects (such as fairly tales and legends).