Links to Subject Research Guides
- Art
- Biology
- Business and Economics
- Chemistry
- Communications, Journalism, and Media
- CORE
- Criminal Justice Administration
- Education
- English
- Health Sciences
- History
- Interdisciplinary Studies
- International Studies
- Kinesiology and Sports
- Mathematics and Computer Sciences
- Music
- Philosophy
- Physics
- Political Science, Government, and Law
- Psychology
- Sociology
- Theatre & Dance
- Theology
- World Languages & Cultures (formerly Modern Languages)
Like us on Facebook!
Research Guides by Subject
Databases Alphabetical List Web Page
Major Multi-Subject Databases
- Academic Search Complete
Multi-subject index to magazine and journal articles, many with full text. - ProQuest Research Library
Multi-subject index to magazine and journal articles, many with full text. - EBSCOhost Databases
Search simultaneously all EBSCO databases in many fields of study.
ALSO AVAILABLE: iphone app &
mobile site - ProQuest Databases
Search simultaneously all ProQuest databases in many fields of study.
Database Alphabetical List
Links for all Whitworth Subscription Databases
A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z|
- ABI Inform Trade & Industry
ProQuest - Periodicals with trade or industry focus. - Academic Search Complete
EBSCO - Multidisciplinary periodical database many with full-text - Academic Video Online (VAST)
Alexander Street -- Streaming Video Collection.
Click blue i (above) for more information - ACM Digital Library
Association of Computing Machinery Journals - Agricola
EBSCO - agriculture index - Alt Health Watch
EBSCO - full-text from 1990 - Alt-Press Watch
ProQuest - alternative and independent publications - America: History and Life
EBSCO - Scholarly American History Index - American Chemical Society Publications
ACS (Journals from 1879- ) - American Economic Association Journals
American Economic Association (2002- ) - American Periodicals Series
ProQuest - 19th century periodicals - Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
1920- . Source: Chadwyck-Healey - Art Full Text
EBSCO - Art journals & magazines - ArticleFirst® Database
OCLC FirstSearch - journal article index - ARTstor
ARTstor - digital library of art images and more - ATLA Religion with Serials
EBSCO - Theological scholarship - AtoZ the World
World Trade Press - cultural information, formerly Global Road Warrior - AtoZ World Business
Business culture, logistics, marketing, communications, money, transportation from around the world. - Biography In Context
GALE - Biographical articles and content - Biological Abstracts
EBSCO (Journal articles from 1969- ) - Business Source Complete
EBSCO - General business database - Cabell's Publishing Directories: Business
Cabell - Chemical & Engineering News
American Chemical Society (1998- ) - Choice Reviews Online
ACRL - reviews current scholarly material - Christian Periodical Index
EBSCO - produced by Assoc. of Christian Librarians - Chronicle of Higher Education
Chronicle of Higher Education - ClasePeriodica
OCLC FirstSearch - Latin American journals - Classic Protestant Texts, Digital Library of
Alexander Street Press - digital texts - Classical Music Library
Alexander Street Press - streaming music - Classical Scores Library
Alexander Street Press - online score collection - Cochrane Collection Plus
EBSCO - evidence-based medical information - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Columbia University Press (FT scholarship 1991- ) - Communication & Mass Media Complete
EBSCO - indexing and full text articles - Computer Source
EBSCO - Computers and Technology publications - CultureGrams Online
ProQuest - Worldwide cultural information - Digital Films on Demand
Master Academic Collection of Digital Films on Demand
New Subscription. - Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
Readex- Early Books & publications - ebooks by EBSCO
EBSCO - electronic books - ebrary - Academic Complete
ebrary -Scholarly and trade electronic books titles - EconLit
ProQuest - Scholarly economics articles and literature - Education Research Complete
EBSCO - Education index with extensive full-text resources. - eLibrary
ProQuest - full text, general reference - Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica - full-text encyclopedia - Environment Complete
EBSCO -Environmental journal and monograph literature from 1888 to the present. - ERIC
EBSCO - education index with ERIC document full-text - Ethnic NewsWatch
ProQuest -ethnic publications 1959 to present - European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
EBSCO - index of records printed before 1750 - Fuente Académica
EBSCO - full-text Spanish journals - Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
EBSCO - cross-disciplinary encyclopedia - GALE Literary Databases
GALE - literary criticism and biography - GenderWatch
ProQuest (1970- ) - Gerritsen Collection- Women's History Online
Chadwyck/ProQuest - Primary and Secondary sources - GPO Monthly Catalog
OCLC FirstSearch - index of government publications - GreenFile
EBSCO - environmental database - Guide to Reference
American Library Association - Health Source - Consumer Edition
EBSCO - full text general health literature - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
EBSCO - full text academic medical literature - Historical Abstracts
EBSCO - World history (outside of US and Canada) - History Study Center
ProQuest - primary & secondary resources - Hoover's Company Records
ProQuest- company and industry records - Image Quest
Encyclopedia Britannica - Images from all subject areas - International Financial Statistics
International Monetary Fund - economic indicators - JSTOR
JSTOR - full text journals with 1-7 year delay - Karl Barth, Digital Library of
Alexander Street Press - Barth writings - LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis - Legal, business and news - Library Music Source
Over 300,000 sheets of Western Classical sheet music - Library PressDisplay
ProQuest - 60 day full-image world newspapers - LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts)
EBSCO - index to library literature - Literature Online (LION)
Chadwyck/ProQuest - full-text literary criticism, literature resources and recordings - Maps A to Z
World Trade Press - all types of maps from around the world - MAS Ultra - School Edition
EBSCO - full text for high school students - MasterFILE Premier
EBSCO - full-text general reference - MedicLatina
EBSCO - Spanish full text medical research - MEDLINE
EBSCO - biomedical journal abstracts - Mental Measurements Yearbook
EBSCO - guide and reviews of testing tools now includes Tests in Print - Middle Search Plus
EBSCO - full text for middle school students - Military & Government Collection
EBSCO - current military news - MLA International Bibliography
Chadwyck/ProQuest - index of scholarly materials - Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar - Music Online
Alexander Street Press - multimedia and reference - National Newspaper Core
ProQuest - full-text major U.S. papers - Naxos Music Library
Naxos - streaming music - Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Naxos - streaming music limited to Jazz - New York Times
ProQuest (newspaper full text from 1980- ) - New York Times Historical
ProQuest (1851-2008)- includes FT & page images - Newspaper Source
EBSCO - regional, U.S., and international news - OAIster Database
OCLC FirstSearch - cross-disciplinary full content - OneClick digital
Downloadable audiobooks. Account sign-up required - Oxford Art Online
Oxford Univ. Press - Grove Art Online - One user at a time be sure to log out. - Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford University Press - Oxford Music Online
Oxford Univ. Press - Grove Music Online - One user at a time be sure to log out. - Oxford Reference Online
Oxford University Press - dictionaries and encyclopedias - PapersFirst Database OCLC FirstSearch - research papers index
- Philosopher's Index
EBSCO - index (1940- ) - Physical Education Index
ProQuest - index (1970- ) - Play Index
EBSCO (1949- ) - Plunkett Research Online
Plunkett - Industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of top companies. - Political Science Complete
EBSCO - Principal political science index, incl. extensive full-text resources. - Primary Search
EBSCO - full text for elementary school students - ProceedingsFirst Database
OCLC FirstSearch - conference papers index - Professional Development Collection
EBSCO - periodicals for educators - PROLA: Physical Review Online Archive
American Physical Society (1893-2006) - ProQuest Biology Journals
ProQuest - Biology and Science(1998- ) - ProQuest Criminal Justice
ProQuest - Index with full text of periodicals for criminal justice profesionals and students. - ProQuest Engineering Collection
ProQuest - Collection of biochemistry, biotechnology, civil, environmental, mechanical and other engineering fields. - ProQuest Family Health
ProQuest - Health database for the layperson - ProQuest Learning: Literature
ProQuest - Resources for study of literature in schools - ProQuest National Newspapers
ProQuest - Major US city newspapers - ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest - index (1971- ) - ProQuest Science Journals
ProQuest - scholarly science periodicals - PsycARTICLES
EBSCO - periodical full text - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
EBSCO - periodical full text - PsycINFO
EBSCO - periodical index - PsycTests
EBSCO - Access to psychological tests and measures. - RefWorks
RefWorks/ProQuest - Citation and research management tool - Regional Business News
EBSCO - U.S. business news sources - Religion and Philosophy Collection
EBSCO - full-text articles - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
EBSCO - SAGE Journals Online
SAGE - full-text - SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder provides access to the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases covering the chemical literature -- Registration required Register here - Sirs Discoverer
ProQuest - Children's research database - SocINDEX
EBSCO - includes full text - Statistical Datasets
ProQuest - International and domestic statistics - TOPICsearch
EBSCO - periodical full text - U.S. History in Context
GALE - reference articles and some journals - Ulrichsweb
Serial Solutions - information on periodicals - Visible Body
Argosy Publishing - Requires Unity Plug In - Wall Street Journal
ProQuest (1984- ) - Western Newsstand
ProQuest - Who's Who on the Web
Marquis - short biographical entries - World Almanac
OCLC FirstSearch (1998- ) - World History in Context
GALE - reference articles, primary sources - WorldCat Database
OCLC FirstSearch - world-wide library catalog
RefWorks Citation Tool
- RefWorks
RefWorks/ProQuest - Citation and research management tool
Basic Research Tutorials
- LOBO: Library Online Basic Orientation
LOBO offers counsel on research strategy, including a step-by-step process. It is sponsored by NC State University libraries. - The Good, The Bad, & the Ugly: or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
by Susan E. Beck, Head, Humanities & Social Sciences Services Department, New Mexico State University Library.
Submit a Link you think should be included on a Research Guide
Need Help?
Ask a Librarian for assistance with your questions and research problems.
Phone (509)777-4491
Or stop by the Reference Desk in the Library
Quick help or Research Appointments Available.
Spring Term Hours
Spring Term Hours (2013)
Feb 4- May 17, 2013
- Monday-Thursday...................... 7:45 a.m.-midnight
- Friday .......................................... 7:45 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
- Saturday ....................................... 9 a.m.-6 p.m.
- Sunday ......................................... 1 p.m.-midnight
Exceptions
- Good Friday, March 29 ............................... Closed
- Easter Sunday, March 31 ................ 6 p.m.-midnight
Spring Break, March 23-March 31
- Saturday, March 23................................ 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
- Sunday, March 24............................................ Closed
- Monday-Thursday Mar .25 -28........... 8 a.m.-8 p.m.
- Friday .Mar. 29....................................... ........Closed
- Saturday .Mar. 30.................................. Closed
- Sunday, March 31.................................6 p.m.-midnight
Extended Hours for Finals
Friday, May 10 ....................................... 7:45 a.m. - 10 p.m.
Saturday, May 11 ........................................ 8 a.m. - 10 p.m.
Sunday, May 12 ............................................ 1 p.m. - 1 a.m.
Monday-Thursday, May 13-16 ................. 7:45 a.m. - 1 a.m.
Friday, May 17 ...................................... 7:45 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 18, is the first day of summer hours.
Spring Reference Desk Hours
Spring Term Reference Desk Hours
| Monday |
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. |
| Tuesday |
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. |
| Wednesday |
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. |
| Thursday |
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. |
| Friday | 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. |
| Saturday | no librarian available |
| Sunday |
1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. |
Photo
Whitworth Library Faculty Spring 2013



Submit
Loading...
