Research Design vs. Research Method
A good research design using appropriate research method(s) ensures data obtained answers the research question effectively.
- Research design = a plan to answer your research question.
- Research method = a strategy used to implement that plan.
“A goal without a plan is just a wish” --Antoine de Saint Exupery
The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods by
The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods provides students and researchers with the most comprehensive resource covering core methods, research designs, and data collection, management, and analysis issues. This thoroughly revised edition continues to place critical emphasis on finding the tools that best fit the research question given the constraints of deadlines, budget, and available staff. Each chapter offers guidance on how to make intelligent and conscious tradeoffs so that one can refine and hone the research question as new knowledge is gained, unanticipated obstacles are encountered, or contextual shifts take place. Each chapter has been enhanced pedagogically to include more step-by-step procedures, more practical examples from various settings to illustrate the method, parameters to define when the method is most appropriate and when it is not appropriate. The editors also include numerous graphs, models, tip boxes to provide teaching and learning tools.Key Features of the Second EditionEmphasizes applying research techniques, particularly in "real-world" settings in which there are various data, money, time, and political constraintsContains new chapters on mixed methods, qualitative comparative analysis, concept mapping, and internet data collectionOffers a newly developed section that serves as a guide for students who are attempting to translate the content in the chapters into actionIntended AudienceThis Handbook is appropriate for introductory and intermediate research methods courses that focus intently on practical applications and a survey of the many methods available to budding researchers.
Call Number: eBook
100 Questions (and Answers) about Research Methods by
"How do I create a good research hypothesis?""How do I know when my literature review is finished?""What is the difference between a sample and a population?""What is power and why is it important?"In an increasingly data-driven world, it is more important than ever for students as well as professionals to better understand the process of research. This invaluable guide answers the essential questions that students ask about research methods in a concise and accessible way.
Call Number: H62 .S355
Understanding and Applying Research Design by
A fresh approach to bridging research design with statistical analysis While good social science requires both research design and statistical analysis, most books treat these two areas separately. Understanding and Applying Research Design introduces an accessible approach to integrating design and statistics, focusing on the processes of posing, testing, and interpreting research questions in the social sciences. The authors analyze real-world data using SPSS software, guiding readers on the overall process of science, focusing on premises, procedures, and designs of social scientific research. Three clearly organized sections move seamlessly from theoretical topics to statistical techniques at the heart of research procedures, and finally, to practical application of research design: Premises of Research introduces the research process and the capabilities of SPSS, with coverage of ethics, Empirical Generalization, and Chi Square and Contingency Table Analysis Procedures of Research explores key quantitative methods in research design including measurement, correlation, regression, and causation Designs of Research outlines various design frameworks, with discussion of survey research, aggregate research, and experiments Throughout the book, SPSS software is used to showcase the discussed techniques, and detailed appendices provide guidance on key statistical procedures and tips for data management. Numerous exercises allow readers to test their comprehension of the presented material, and a related website features additional data sets and SPSS code. Understanding and Applying Research Design is an excellent book for social sciences and education courses on research methods at the upper-undergraduate level. The book is also an insightful reference for professionals who would like to learn how to pose, test, and interpret research questions with confidence.
Call Number: eBook
Factors to Consider When Selecting a Method
Balance the time, strengths, and weakness of each method when selecting.
- Time for data collection and analysis (e.g., observations produce rich information but take time to collect and analyze).
- Strengths and weaknesses of each method (e.g., surveys can be time effective but lack details).
Different Research Methods = Different Types of Research
Select a research method based on your research goal and subjects to collect your data.
The method will produce different kinds of data (e.g., surveys produce short answers, experiments produce data in a controlled environment).