Key Article Databases
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - (1950's-current) Biomedical journal abstracts for medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Also available in public Web Version. Searches abstracts of over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window(Free) PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
- Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine (OneFile) This link opens in a new windowGALE - Covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Includes proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Reference Resources
- Visible Body - Anatomy Apps This link opens in a new windowVisible Body is a selection of multimedia apps that allows users to explore human anatomy through 3-D examination. Included in Whitworth's collection is Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology, and Muscle Premium.
- An A-Z of Food and DrinkOxford University Press. From absinthe to zabaglione, this dictionary reveals the origin, meaning, and development of a host of gastronomic terms.
- A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition (3 ed.)Oxford University Press. Entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health.
- A Dictionary of Sports StudiesOxford University Press. Covers the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well as entries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy.
- Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and ExerciseOxford University Press. Covers all matters relating to diet and exercise.
- The Oxford Book of Health FoodsOxford University Press. Scientifically based guide to a variety of foods associated with good health.
- The Oxford Companion to Medicine (3 ed.)Oxford University Press - articles on topics ranging from abortion to zombification
- The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine (3 ed.)Oxford University Press. Covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles.
Internet Resources
- The National Athletic Trainers' AssociationInformation about athletic training careers. Not a research site. (NATA)
- MedPix This link opens in a new window(Free) MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
- Sports MedicineOriginal research and definitive reviews in the field of sports and exercise medicine.