Newspapers and magazines
- American Antiquarian Society - Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - Use Ebsco platform to search digitized American periodicals from 1684-1912.
- American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full text of scientific journals and popular magazines printed between 1740 to 1940. Titles range from general interest magazines, women's journals, children's issues and scholarly publications.
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowGALE - Multiple collections including 19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East.
- Chronicling AmericaLibrary of Congress digitized newspapers from 1789-1963. Home page links to "100 Years Ago Today" issues of periodicals from around the country. Included in the Library of Congress Newspapers.
- Library of Congress NewspapersSearch by keyword or limit by date, title, location, language, and more. Includes digitized full issues from around the world dating back to late Eighteenth Century.
- LIFE photo archiveA partnership between Google and LIFE magazine brought about this collection of images from the 1860s to the 1970s. Cross-reference with LIFE on www.hathitrust.org/ for full stories and pages.
- Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new windowGALE - Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- United States Online Historical NewspapersSearch for publications by location then browse by title and date. Links out to repositories.
- Washington (State) Historical NewspapersProvided by the Secretary of State website, includes digitized Washington newspapers from 1852-1922. Browse by county, title, or date.
- Whitworthian Newspaper archiveChoose year you want to search - click Download. Wait until download finishes - enter CTRL-F and type keyword into search box. Search term will be highlighted throughout text.
Help for the databases
- Guide to Proquest Historical Newspaperscontent, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform
Audio and Video
- DPLA (Digital Public Library of America)Search for "newsreel," refine your search by limiting to year.
- National Jukebox - Historical Recordings from the Library of CongressUse Advanced Search, or browse the Berliner or Nation's Forum Recordings. Included in the Library of Congress Audio recordings search.
- UCSB Cylinder Audio ArchiveDigitized from cylinder recordings at UC Santa Barbara and other universities. Includes audio theater, speeches and music from around the globe.
- Library of Congress Audio RecordingsSearch by keyword or limit by date, location, collection, or subject.
- Library of Congress Video recordingsSearch by keyword or limit by date, location, format, subject or language.
Art and mixed media
- Library of Congress Prints and PhotographsIncludes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
- National Archives Digital Photography CollectionsDigitized photographs organized into collections based on historical events and topics. Also includes links to other digital photography collections.
- Smithsonian Free Image Collection2.8 million free online images from the Smithsonians Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
- Eastman MuseumMore than a quarter of a million objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections are now searchable.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery800,000 photographs, posters, manuscripts digitized, searchable and free to research.
- International Advertising & Design DatabaseIncludes historical and more contemporary images from advertising campaigns that are free from copyrights.
- Frick Digital CollectionsThe collections include photo archive images and documentation, book materials, Frick Collection images, and archival documents.
Physical artifacts in the library
ON THE FIRST FLOOR
Bound Whitworthians and Natsihis are located behind the reference collection. The microfilm collection, on the rear wall, includes many historic publications.
ON THE SECOND FLOOR
Bound periodicals are shelved by title with volume, issues and year on the spine or label.