Key Article Databases
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular database includes full-text and abstracts.
- Arts & Humanities Commons This link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Commons is an Open Access repository of humanities literature from universities all over the world.
- Pop Culture Studies (OneFile) This link opens in a new windowGALE - Access to complete, up-to-date content from leading journals and reference sources that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Selected Journals (in order of IF)
- New Media & Society1999-present online
- Journalism2000-present online
- Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly1996-present online
2000-present in library - Mass Communication & Society1998-18 months ago online
- Columbia Journalism Review1962-present online
2009-present in library - American Journalism Review1993-present online
- Newspaper Research Journal1979-2016 online
Newspapers
- News (OneFile) This link opens in a new windowGALE - Search full-text newspaper articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank - Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, education, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, sports, STEM, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowBlack Life in America covers the experiences and impact of African Americans from 1976-current day, as recorded by the news media. Users can search full text using topical/keyword terms. There is a “Suggested Searches” functionality that guides users to important events, themes, and stories across the spectrum of African American history.
- US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1980-current) Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal searched together.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window(Free) Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
- American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full text of scientific journals and popular magazines printed between 1740 to 1940. Titles range from general interest magazines, women's journals, children's issues and scholarly publications.
- News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Combined search of all ProQuest newspapers from regional, national and international areas included in Whitworth's subscription.
- Whitworthian Newspaper archiveChoose year you want to search - click Download. Wait until download finishes - enter CTRL-F and type keyword into search box. Search term will be highlighted throughout text.
Videos
- Newsreels from Alexander Street PressMultidisciplinary streaming video collection including history, art, business, law, dance, education, healthcare, music, science, and more.
Browse or search news from around the world by year, people, places, or historical events.
Whitworth Student Media
- The WhitworthianNews site and monthly newspaper
- Pirate RadioWeb-based radio station
- NatsihiVintage Yearbooks
- Beyond the PinesPR Agency
- ScriptLiterary Magazine
Related Guides
Society of Professional Journalists
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for Journalism and Communication are:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find Journalism Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- HE8689-8700.95
- Radio and television broadcasting
- P87-96
- Communication; Mass Media
- PN1900-1930
- Broadcasting - radio and television
- PN4799-5650
- Journalism
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
