Journalism

A fully revised and updated edition of the bible of the newspaper industry.
Also in Reserves and older editions in Main Stacks.

Each entry includes a bibliography and suggestions for further reading, together with links to related topics in the Encyclopedia.

Covers print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics.
6 volumes

Covers 100 events in world history from the 17th century to the present--moments that alone were major and minor, but ones that exploded in the public eye when the media stepped in.

Chronological coverage begins with an illustrated report of the enforcement of the Fugitive Slave Act of 1851. Each year following is covered in separate chapters that begin with an introduction and overview written by a historian.
2 volumes

First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The Encyclopedia of American Journalism is the only single-volume reference work to explore the history of journalism in the United States in print media, radio, television, and the Internet.

ONLINE
Examines the development, history and current state of war journalism. From the Mexican War in 1846 to the current Conflicts in the Middle East.

The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Includes more than 175 essays written by over 200 leading and emerging scholars from across the globe Arranged across 6 thematic volumes edited by an international team of expert scholars Accessible volume introductions provide overviews of key themes The most definitive resource available in this complex, heterogeneous, multi-methodological and multi-theoretical interdisciplinary field Explores media as it is being practiced, produced, and analyzed in Asia, Africa, the Americas, Australia, and Europe All volumes pay close attention to issues of gender and ethnicity so necessary to understanding contemporary media Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures

Explores the ways that editorial content is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
4 volumes

Encyclopedic-like entries on black American newspapers from 1827-1980. Index of chronological events in black history as related to the press.

Reprint of the 1947 ed. published by the American Antiquarian Society, Worcester, Mass.
2 volumes

The first producer of NPR's legendary "All Things Considered," Mitchell tells the story of public radio from the point of view of an insider, a participant, and a thoughtful observer.

The history of broadcasting, 1920-1960.

The story of the eleven journalists who, under the direction of Edward R. Murrow, formed CBS's WWII team.

Edwards brings to life the great stories Murrow covered and brought into American living rooms for the first time--the rooftop reports of the London Blitz, bombing raids over Berlin, and the 1954 broadcast that helped bring down Senator Joe McCarthy--as well as the ups and downs of his career at CBS.

In words and images -- and on two audio compact discs -- We Interrupt This Broadcast brings to life the famous and infamous moments of the twentieth century that were announced to us with those four chilling words.