Key Article Databases
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Includes: Dateline, Global Information, and Trade & Industry databases. Scholarly journals, newspapers, conference papers and proceedings, company records, economic data, and market information.
- IBISWorld Industry Intelligence This link opens in a new windowDatabase of research, analysis, and risk information on over 1,450 US industries at the level where companies operate.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1986-current) Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica and Snapshots
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular database includes full-text and abstracts.
- Social & Behavioral Sciences Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) Social & Behavioral Sciences Commons is an Open Access repository of social sciences literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution.
Selected Journals
- Journal of Public Relations Research1992-18 months ago online
- Mass Communication & Society1998-18 months ago online
- PRweek1998-present online
- Public Relations Quarterly1965-2009 online
- Public Relations Strategist1998-2007 online
- Public Relations Tactics1998-2008 online
Videos
Search the Library
Reference Resources
SAGE Handbook of Public Relations by Call Number: HD59 .H267 2010ISBN: 9781412977807The Handbook offers a definitive source of the best insights into the definition of the field of public relations, the practice and best practices. It analyzes the impact of new communication technologies and the global challenges of international public relations.
Ethics in Public Relations by Call Number: HD59 .P35 2008ISBN: 9780749453329Exploration of the key ethical concerns present in the public relations world today by way of practical tips and guidance to support those in PR and corporate communications.
The New Rules of Marketing and PR by Call Number: HF5415.1265 .S39 2013ISBN: 9781118488768The benchmark guide to marketing and PR, updated with the latest social media and marketing trends, tools, and real-world examples of success.
Public Relations Writing by Call Number: HM263 .B538 1999ISBN: 9780844203515
Public Relations: the Basics by Call Number: HM1221 .S76 2014ISBN: 9780415675840Both the practice and profession of public relations are explored and the focus is on those issues which will be most relevant to those new to the field. It also features a glossary and an appendix on first steps towards a career in public relations making this the book the ideal starting point for anyone new to the study of public relations.
Writing for Public Relations by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1631573055This book contains the basic elements necessary for an individual with little marketing or public relations experience to write promotional materials including the news release, newsletter, brochure, web copy, and blog.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by Call Number: REF HD59 .E48 2005ISBN: 9780761927334Pub. date: 2004-10-122 volumes
Contains nearly 450 entries spanning all aspects of the public relations field - from theory and practice to history, including the great, famous and infamous practitioners.
Public Opinion Polls
- American National Election StudiesHigh quality data from surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation
- Pew Research CenterSurvey reports from 1987-current. Topics include politics, media & news, social trends, religion, technology, science, and more.
- PollingReport.comHighlights from recent surveys by a nonpartisan resource. Topics dated for more recent results.
- WorldPublicOpinion.orgBrowse by topic or global regions. Search by keyword.
Whitworth Student Media
- The WhitworthianNews site and monthly newspaper
- Pirate RadioWeb-based radio station
- NatsihiVintage Yearbooks
- Beyond the PinesPR Agency
- ScriptLiterary Magazine
Related Guides
Public Relations Society of America
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for Public Relations are:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find Public Relations Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- HD49-49.5
- Crisis Management
- HD58.7-60.5
- Organizational Behavior; Public Relations; Social Responsibility of Business
- HM263
- Public Relations (former classification)
- HM1176-1281
- Social Influence
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
