Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Minors: U.S. Cultural Studies

Key Article Databases

Diversity Studies (OneFile) This link opens in a new window
GALE- Explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Subset of Academic OneFile

Ethnic Specific Resources

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1959-current) Interdisciplinary, full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Some Bilingual (English/Spanish)

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Contains Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); Jim Crow Era (1878-1932); The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975): The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
The BlackPast.org : an online reference guide to African American history
This website has been created by staff associated with the University of Washington, Seattle. It provides free access to materials relating to Black African American history from the 18th Century to the present day.
more...less...
This includes an online encyclopedia of key figures, events and concepts; the complete transcript of over 100 speeches given between 1789 and 2004; over 80 full text documents (court cases and legislation); timelines of key events and a directory of useful research resources. Topics covered include civil rights; slavery; emancipation and the history and culture of Black African Americans.
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement: A Digital Archive
Source: Bancroft Library at University of California, Berkeley - 100,000 original manuscripts are available digitally.
StoryCorps
more...less...
Our mission is to provide Americans of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives.
Since 2003, StoryCorps has collected and archived more than 30,000 interviews from more than 60,000 participants. Each conversation is recorded on a free CD to share, and is preserved at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. StoryCorps is one of the largest oral history projects of its kind, and millions listen to our broadcasts on public radio and the web.

Historical Collections

American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Full text of scientific journals and popular magazines printed between 1740 to 1940. Titles range from general interest magazines, women's journals, children's issues and scholarly publications.
American Pamphlet Series I - 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
Readex -Collection from the New York Historical Society
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Readex -Articles and full-text books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Subjects include agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, and religion.
Gerritsen Collection- Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1543-1945) Large collection of primary and secondary sources on women published between 1543 and 1945. Covers history, education, feminism, employment, health and medicine, biography and political and social reform.
Provides full-text access to over 4,300 books and hundreds of periodicals from around the world.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
GALE -Collection of historical primary source materials which can be searched as individual collections or as a group.

Archives West
The Archives West database provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. The finding aids for Whitworth's archival collections are searchable via this database.
Digital Collections from the Library of Congress
Primary Source documents on all areas of American experience.
more...less...
Digitized American history from the Library of Congress collections as well as leading archival collections in universities and museums throughout the U.S.

Popular Culture

Pop Culture Collection
provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
more...less...
The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Popular Culture Association / American Culture Association
Focuses on -the study of the mainstream culture or that which is popular with the masses.
On This Day
The New York Times: Education: On This Day

African-American Women with Brooms of Bambusa,September 29, 1899
Photographs Relating to Farm Management InvestigationsNational Archives, Records of the Bureau of Agricultural Economics, Record Group 83 (National Archives Identifier 521043)

Need Help?

reference@whitworth.edu

509.777.4491

Come see us in the Library!

Whitworth Departments

Whitworth University U.S. Cultural Studies Minor
Information About:
Degree Requirements

Multimedia

Diversity Video Online
Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Multidisciplinary streaming video and music collections including history, art, business, law, dance, education, healthcare, music, science, and more.
Images from JSTOR formerly ArtStor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 1 million images from a wide range of cultures and time periods and historical photographs from around the world. Now searchable from within JSTOR.

Interdisciplinary Minors

Key Article Databases

Ethnic Specific Resources

Historical Collections

Popular Culture

African-American Women with Brooms of Bambusa,September 29, 1899 Photographs Relating to Farm Management InvestigationsNational Archives, Records of the Bureau of Agricultural Economics, Record Group 83 (National Archives Identifier 521043)

Need Help?

Whitworth Departments

Multimedia

U. S. News

African-American Women with Brooms of Bambusa,September 29, 1899
Photographs Relating to Farm Management InvestigationsNational Archives, Records of the Bureau of Agricultural Economics, Record Group 83 (National Archives Identifier 521043)