Key Article Databases
- PRISMA Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1966-current) Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
- Latin American & Iberian Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in Latin American Countries, Spain and Portugal
Books and E-Books
World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: Reference PQ6006 .W68 2011
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: Ref F1406 .E53 2008ISBN: 9780684312705Pub. date: 20086 volume set
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by Call Number: Ref F1410 .E56 2002ISBN: 1573563064Pub. date: 2002
Recommended Internet Resources
- LANIC: Latin American Network Information CenterSearchable directory of internet resources that provide information on Latin America. Search by country, subject, or specialized topic. Source: University of Texas at Austin
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionA large collection of global, country-specific, and topical maps.
Source: University of Texas at Austin - Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin AmericaOnline language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. From the University of Texas.
Historical Collections
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new windowGALE - Original accounts of exploration, trade colonialism, slavery, military actions and more from 1500 to the early 1900's. Covers North, South & Central America and the West Indies.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - A index to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers European exploration, portrayals of Native American peoples, natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery.
- Gerritsen Collection- Women's History Online This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1543-1945) Large collection of primary and secondary sources on women published between 1543 and 1945. Covers history, education, feminism, employment, health and medicine, biography and political and social reform.
Multimedia
- World History in VideoAlexander Street Press. Provides streaming video access to hundreds of hours of documentaries on a wide range of world history subjects.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineAlexander Street Press - covers Africa, Middle East, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and other global regions.
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for History are:
- Turabian Style Guide Presents basic examples for both notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and parenthetical citations–reference list style (or reference list style). Source: Kate L. Turabian and The University of Chicago
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.