Music

Also available online at Oxford Music Online

The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the UnitedStates, and the American history of the orchestra.

The most comprehensive and scholarly encyclopedia on jazz. Now also included in Oxford Music Online.

Especially good for articles on individual operas. Now also included in Oxford Music Online.

Modernism in music still arouses passions and is riven by controversies. Taking root in the early decades of the twentieth century, it achieved ideological dominance for almost three decades following the Second World War, before becoming the object of widespread critique in the last two decades of the century, both from critics and composers of a postmodern persuasion and from prominent scholars associated with the 'new musicology'.

The Band Music Handbook: A Comprehensive Catalog of Band Repertoire presents professional, college, community, and school band directors with an essential tool for discovering and selecting appropriate repertoire. Christopher M. Cicconi presents a wide-ranging catalog of band music composed in the past twenty-five years. From the work of John Adams to Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, the music cataloged includes works appropriate for all ages and skill levels. Each work listed includes date of origin, duration, exact instrumentation, and publisher. A number of appendixes further classify the repertoire by composer, title, and duration and offer a detailed list of publishers, a bibliography for further reading, and a comprehensive march list. Following the model of the best-selling Daniels' Orchestral Music, The Band Music Handbook puts the information that band conductors, directors, and musicians need right at their fingertips. It is also an essential tool for future music educators and instrumental music education students seeking assistance in repertoire selection.

Daniels' Orchestral Music is the gold standard among conductors, music programmers, orchestra librarians, and any other music professional--or student--seeking to research an orchestral program, whether for a single concert or a full season. Compositions cover the standard international repertoire for the orchestra; this latest edition, nearly a decade since the previous one, contains over 8500 entries.

This is a definitive reference resource to take a broad interdisciplinary approach to the nexus between music and the social and behavioral sciences examines how music affects human beings and their interactions in and with the world. The interdisciplinary nature of the work provides a starting place for students to situate the status of music within the social sciences in fields such as anthropology, communications, psychology, linguistics, sociology, sports, political science and economics, as well as biology and the health sciences.

Prepared by the Music Library Association, with thousands of records selected by experts in dozens of specialized and popular areas of music, A Basic Music Library constitutes the most authoritative music collection resource available.

An updated new edition of Ted Gioia's acclaimed compendium of jazz standards, featuring 15 additional selections, hundreds of additional recommended tracks, and enhancements and additions on almost every page .In this second edition, Gioia expands the scope of the book to include more songs, and features new recordings by rising contemporary artists.