Archives and Special Collections

Quick Information

To schedule an appointment

archives@whitworth.edu or call  (509)777-4481

Hours for Appointments -  Mon., Tues, Thurs., Fri., 9 a.m.-4p.m.  Wed. 1-4 p.m. and some Wed. Evenings.

Locate Resources

Search the Whitworth Catalog for books and some archival collections here

Online access to a selection of the Archives' finding aids is provided via the Archives West database: http://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/

Researcher Guidelines

.

The Whitworth University Archives and Special Collections are open to researchers by appointment.

Researchers will be required to fill out a Researcher Registration Form and have it renewed on an annual basis.

Research Room Rules

The mission of the Archives is to build and administer specialized subject collections. The collections often consist of unique, rare, and fragile items that require careful use if they are to be preserved for future use.

 

  1. All researchers must make an appointment.
     
  2. All researchers are required to register and provide picture identification
     
  3. Personal items including briefcases, backpacks, purses, coats and laptop cases must be surrendered before entering the research room. Lockers may or may not be provided.
     
  4. No Food, drink or tobacco products are allowed in the research area. (Including water bottles)
     
  5. Only paper and pencil (with permission laptops or cell phones) may be placed on the research table with materials.
     
  6. Use finding aids, indexes or online resources to identify the materials desired for research prior to your research appointment. Request research items from staff, they will bring them to you.
     
  7. Only one box of research materials (or possibly one folder of materials) may be used at a time.
     
  8. Preserve the original order of all materials within the folders as well as boxes.
     
  9. Exercise great care when handling materials. Do not lean on them, write on them, fold them or attach adhesive notes or stickers. Be careful not to write or leave stray marks on the materials.
     
  10. Cotton gloves need to be worn when handling photographs and fragile materials. (provided)
     
  11. Archival materials do not leave the research area for any reason.
     
  12. Staff will do photocopying of materials only. Limitations against photocopying may be placed on items because of Copyright, condition of materials, or restrictions placed by donors.

.

  1. Whitworth University Archives and Special Collections reserve the right to refuse access to archival materials to anyone who does not abide by the rules.  Researchers who willfully break the rules or who behave in any other way threatening the welfare of the materials, other researchers, or staff will forfeit their right to use the Archives materials now and in the future.
     
  2. Researchers agree to give proper credit to the institution for use of any materials in papers, publications or presentations. Citation to be done in accordance to the institutions’ standard.
     
  3. For publication, permissions and guidelines please see the Whitworth University Archives and Special Collections Guidelines for Publication.

Helpful Guides for Research in Archives