Philosophy

Another comprehensive print encyclopedia. 10 vols.

The leading print encycopedia of philosophy. 10 vols.

Comprehensive encyclopedia of American philosophers; entries contain a short biography, explanation of the philosopher's views and influence. Contains bibliographies of primary literature and secondary works.

Expanded from the 1998 first edition to six volumes and over 800 entries, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society-from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. The second edition includes increased coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media like computer art, and areas like neuroaesthetics that were not thoroughly covered in the first edition.

The new edition of the definitive reference work on ethics, featuring hundreds of new and revised entries Unmatched in scholarship and scope, the International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the most comprehensive and authoritative ethics resource of its kind.

Epistemology is the branch of philosophy that investigates our beliefs, evidence, and claims of knowledge. It is one of the core areas of philosophy, and is relevant to an astonishingly broad range of issues and situations.

Philosophy: Sources, Perspectives, and Methodologies serves as a primer to the study of philosophy. By employing literature, film, art, history, and other disciplines, the twenty-seven thematic chapters identify areas of critical thought and practice in the philosophical study. They begin with the nature of philosophy, segue into epistemology and non-Western traditions, explore various interdisciplinary methods, and conclude with introductions to the subfields covered in the succeeding nine volumes in the series.