Articles
- East & South Asia Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.
- CiNii ArticlesCiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is an index of Japanese articles and books in all subjects. Full access to select items, but citation only for most.
- Bibliographic Database of Research on Japanese Language and Japanese Language EducationThe "Bibliographic Database of Research on Japanese Language and Japanese Language Education" is a database of research material related to the Japanese language and Japanese language education.
Newspapers and Periodicals
- Asian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in Asia and the Far East.
- Nikkei.comNihon Keizai Shimbun -- sort of the Japanese equivalent of the Wall Street Journal or Financial times. In Japanese; English version available, look for the 'English' button at the top of the page.
Internet Resources
- Jisho.org Japanese DictionaryJisho is a powerful Japanese-English dictionary. It lets you find words, kanji, example sentences and more quickly and easily.
Enter any Japanese text or English word in the search box and Jisho will search a myriad of data for you. - National Diet Library Digital CollectionsThe National Diet Library Digital Collection is a service that allows patrons to browse digital materials held by the National Diet Library. It acquire and provide access to digitized materials in their original form at time of publication as well as materials first published on the Internet.
Reference Resources
Kenkyusha's New Japanese-English Dictionary by Call Number: Reference PL679 .K4 1993
NTC's New Japanese and English Character Dictionary by Call Number: Reference PL679 .N72 1993- Reference Grammar of Japanese by Call Number: Reference PL533.M28 1988ISBN: 9780804815505Pub. date: 1989Standard English language grammar of Japanese.
- Modern Japanese Writers by Call Number: Reference PL723 .M56 2001
- Japan Encyclopedia by Call Number: Reference DS821 .F73 2002"Knowing Japan and the Japanese better," Louis Frédéric states in the introduction to this encyclopedia, "is one of the necessities of modern life." The Japanese have a profound knowledge of every aspect and detail of Western societies. Unfortunately, we in the West cannot say the same about our knowledge of Japan.
How to Find Japanese Language & Culture Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- PL501-699
- Japanese language (grammars, dictionaries, etc.)
- PL700-889
- Japanese literature
- PL700-751.5
- History and criticism
- PL752-783
- Collections
- PL784-866
- Individual authors
- PL885-889
- Local literature
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
Chôbunsai Eishi (Japanese, 1756-1829)
The Salt Maidens, Matsukaze with Yukihira's Coat, 1775-1805
Hanging scroll; Ink and colors on silk
The Art Institute of Chicago
Source