This tab contains resources that are useful for many World Languages and Cultures searches. For resources specific to a particular language, select the tab for that language.
Articles
Article databases useful for most language and literatrue searches:
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - A library of 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, over 325 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. NO LONGER INCLUDES MLA, use MLA International link in A-Z Databases list.
- GALE Literature This link opens in a new windowGALE - Research authors and their works or literary movements and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
- Arts & Humanities Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) An Open Access repository of humanities literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
Multi-subject articles databases useful for interdisciplinary searches:
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular database includes full-text and abstracts on 150 subjects and topics.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window GALE - Contains peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Online Reference
- Oxford Language Reference Books OnlineOxford University Press. Topics include grammar, idioms, linguistics, and proverbs. Some titles are available in paper: Encyclopedia of rhetoric is at REF PN172.E52 2001.
- Oxford Bilingual Dictionaries OnlineOxford University Press. Searchable full text of bilingual dictionaries. Languages include French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh.
Newspapers and Periodicals
- European NewsstreamIncludes major newspapers from many European countries, often in both the original language and English.
- Asian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in Asia and the Far East.
- African Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in Africa.
- Middle Eastern Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Local and regional news coverage in English and French from across the Arab World, Southwest Asia and surrounding countries.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank - Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, education, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, sports, STEM, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Internet Resources
- EthnologueCatalogues almost 7,000 living languages, including population, dialects, immigrant languages, and more.
Source: SIL International
Attributed to H. A. Wing (English, 19th century)
Portrait of Seated Man with Newspaper, c. 1846
The Art Institute of Chicago
Source
Whitworth Departments
- World Languages & Cultures DepartmentProvides information about the department, program offerings, career opportunities, faculty and off-campus opportunities.
- Whitworth University Off-Campus Studies (Study Abroad & Exchange Programs)Information about study abroad and other exchange programs in the United States and around the world, including: health & safety, online travelogues, calendars, financial aid, resources, U.S. Passport information, paying program deposits & fees, and forms (applications, etc).
Citing Your Sources
The style mainly used for World Languages and Cultures is:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find World Languages and Cultures Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- PC
- Romance Languages
- PD
- Germanic Languages
- PJ6001-8517
- Arabic Language and Literature
- PL501-889
- Japanese Language and Literature
- PL1001-3208
- Chinese Language and Literature
- PL8000-8844
- African Languages and Literatures
- PQ1-3999
- French Literature
- PQ6001-8929
- Spanish Literature
- PT
- German Literature
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
