Speech Communication

While this book deals mostly with high school and college newspapers, it also covers religious issues, speech codes, free speech zones, self-censorship due to political correctness, hate speech, threats of disruption and violence, and off-campus speech, including social media. Provides a representative sampling of cases spread across the five decades and across the subject areas listed above.

Collection of the Court's leading First Amendment cases, some 60 in all, starting with Schenck v. United States (1919) and ending with Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union (1998).

Conversations with the people behind landmark First Amendment cases.

This anthology offers a detailed examination of four landmark court cases: Near v. Minnesota, NY Times v. Sullivan, NY Times v. US, and Branzburg v. Hayes.

Companion to Communication Law in America.
73 features cases

This new edition includes new entries on key cases and fully updated treatment of crucial areas of constitutional law, such as abortion, freedom of religion, school desegregation, freedom of speech, voting rights, military tribunals, and the rights of the accused.

This title considers the constitutionality of hate speech regulation, and examines how liberal democracies have adopted fundamental differences in the way they respond to racist or extreme expressions.

A collection of novel theoretical perspectives and case studies which illustrate how different communication law regimes conceptualize and apply universal ideals of human rights and freedom of expression to media controversies in real space and cyberspace.

Tracing the history of the press in tandem with its regulation, Mills argues that technology has always evolved more quickly than the laws restricting its use. Old laws chase new media, raising original questions of how privacy and modern news outlets can coexist.

Why the First Amendment fails to protect speech rights and what to do about it.

Case studies throughout each chapter addressing individual critical issues.

The Handbook of Mass Media Ethics brings together the intellectual history of mass media ethics over the past 25 years.

Examines important themes in communication ethics, including feminism, ideology, social responsibility, reporting, metanarratives, blasphemy, development, and "glocalism", among many others.

At the heart of the book are 23 cases, true stories of problems encountered by recent professionals working in news, advertising and public relations. Each story is presented as a narrative, so readers can ponder: What would I do if this happened to me?

Includes coverage of core topics, hypothetical exercises and a thorough update of cases to keep the text current.

An introduction to media law principles and cases and the related ethical concerns relevant to the practice of professional communication.

Covers libel, invasion of privacy, copyright and trademark, access to government information, advertising, and electronic media.

2 volumes
Divided into six thematic sections covering information from contrasting ethical responsibly and legal rights for both speech and press, newsgathering and access, and privacy to libelous reporting, business considerations, and changing rules with social media and the Internet.