Overview
Online Resources are increasing at a phenomenal rate. Unlike most scholarly journal which are behind a paywall there are a large number of sites that are making their resources available at no charge. Some are governmental or quasi-governmental but others are educational and cooperative ventures. You can probably find most of the information on Google but who wants to go through 500 pages of hits to find the items.
Have suggestion on sites that should be here? Let me know.
U.S. Government Resources
- National ArchivesDocuments, photographs and records of U.S. history and U.S. historical involvement throughout the world. So their scope is worldwide
- Online Exhibits from the National ArchivesOnline Exhibits on various topics providing photographs and documentary evidence.s topics. 43 different subjects each of different topics from Political Science and History fields of study. From the history of the Legislative Branch to Nixon meeting Elvis Presley. Also check out the one on the Influenza of 1918.
- Digital Collections from the Library of CongressVast resource of digitized documents on all areas of United States history, historical newspapers, Also includes web archives of international topics.
- United States Supreme CourtHas case documents and oral arguments back to the late 1960s.
- National Park ServiceProvides historical records not only for the Historic Preservation of sites but images and documents of a broad national historic interest.
State and Local Government Resources
- Washington State Digital ArchivesProvide historical records, collections and exhibits on state history. Information varies by county and municipality.
- Washington State Library Digital Collections and ResourcesHistorical collections, document, images and exhibits on Washington.
Other states have similar resources. If you can't find the resources for the state you are interested in ask a reference librarian for help.
Consortia Online Books and Content
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryA large scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries throughout the country. Some content is limited to institutional members so closed to Whitworth. It is a great search and access point for those Google Books and other online digitization projects with a clearer search function and advanced search capabilities including full text searching.
- Internet ArchiveA non-profit library of free books, movies, software, music, websites. Also check out the Wayback Archive for old websites. (See what www.whitworth.edu looked like in 1997 or 2007.)
- DPLA Digital Public Library of AmericaThe DPLA searches content from dozens of consortium and institutions across the country with nearly 37 million images, texts, videos and sound.
- Project GutenbergFree ebooks from Project Gutenberg consists of 60,000 books mostly published before 1924 thus freely available without copyright restrictions.
- Digital History: using new technologies to enhance teaching and researchResources that are available for teachers of history and their students. Much is geared to 6-12 students. Good for searching recommended resources by a certain era. Still in progress.
Other Historical Resources
- Historical NewspapersHistorical newspapers available online or from subscriptions at the Whitworth Library.
- U.S. and World Newspaper ( Recent and Current)Links to newspapers either subscription by Whitworth Library or free throughout the world.
- Genealogy ResourcesView a variety of Genealogy Resources from the Genealogy Research Guide. There are a large number of historical documents, newspapers, annuals, photographs and miscellaneous information in the Genealogy Resources.
- Joel E. Ferris Research Archives (NWMAC):Phone: (509) 363-5342
Email: archives@northwestmuseum.org - UW Digital CollectionsSeveral Native American photograph collections are featured through the University of Washington's digital platform.
International Resources
- Online Resources from the United NationsA variety of online information is available from the Archives of the United Nations.
- UN AudioVisual LibraryVideo and photographs from the United Nations both in chambers and from around the world. Note:Search from the box (or just hit the search button) and the facets to limit by date or type will appear. Can limit to photographs or audiovisual and has historical clips back to the 1920’s.
- National Archives United KingdomThe Online Collections of the National Archives of the UK represent 5% of the total collection but is still a vast resource of images and documents.
