Research Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window(Free) PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowEBSCO - Biomedical journal abstracts for medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Coverage from 1950s to present. Also available in public Web Version. Searches abstracts of over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library provides high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The library collection includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
- JBI Sumari This link opens in a new windowJBI SUMARI facilitates the entire systematic review process from protocol to report, and includes team and contributor management for effective and efficient collaboration
Videos and interactive modules
- Visible Body - Anatomy Apps This link opens in a new windowVisible Body is a selection of multimedia apps that allows users to explore human anatomy through 3-D examination. Included in Whitworth's collection is Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology, and Muscle Premium.
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new windowEach user needs to create their own My Access Log Ins through this link. Once a user has created a My Access log in, they can use it to sign in moving forward and it will link them to the institutional subscriptions.
- ICE (International Clinical Educators) Video Collection This link opens in a new windowICE Learning Center - 200+ short video clips specifically for physical therapy and occupational therapy students and faculty, illustrating a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings. Subscription includes a Faculty Zone with lesson plans, rubrics and templates, faculty can create an account here - requires verification of teaching status.
Web Resources
- Washington Occupational Therapy AssociationThe Washington Occupational Therapy Association (WOTA) is the professional membership community for OT practitioners in Washington State.
- OTseekerOpen Access - abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Limited content since 2016, use PEDro or PubMed for current open access content.
- Journal of Occupational Therapy Education (JOTE)The Journal of Occupational Therapy Education (JOTE) is an open access, double-blind peer reviewed journal devoted solely to publishing research and other relevant information related to occupational therapy and occupational science education.
- Translational Science in OccupationThis free and open access journal invites a variety of scholarship types and research questions relating to the study of occupation and/or occupation-based practice
- PLoS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window(Free) PLoS is a nonprofit publisher of peer-reviewed open access articles primarily in biology and medicine. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
- Life Sciences Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) Life Sciences Commons is an Open Access repository of life sciences literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
- PEDro - Physiotherapy Edvidence DatabaseOpen Access - database of over 44,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
In Library & Reference Resources
Foundations and Skills for Practice in Occupational Therapy by Call Number: RM735 .F68 2021ISBN: 9780702054471Pub. date: 2020Underlining the importance and clinical relevance of theory to practice, the text provides an excellent introduction to the theoretical basis of occupational therapy. Contributions are given by both academics and expert clinicians.
Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents by Call Number: RJ53.O25 O22 2019ISBN: 9780323512633Pub. date: 2019Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Developmental milestone tables serve as a quick reference throughout the book.- Spirituality and occupational therapy: a model for practice and research byCall Number: RM735 .S65 2016Pub. date: 2016Many occupational therapy clients value spirituality and view it as an integral part of their identity and well-being. Recognized in the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework as a client factor, spirituality and its related occupations can influence clients ability to cope, rehabilitate, connect with others, and find meaning. Practitioners need to be able to address spirituality in an occupation-based context to improve client outcomes and well-being.
The Occupational Therapy Manager by Call Number: RM735.6 .O25 2019ISBN: 9781569003909Pub. date: 2019In today's health care, occupational therapy managers and leaders must be prepared to ensure delivery of high-quality care; staff morale and efficiency remain high; businesses and organizations are profitable; and the profession is recognized by other health care professionals, reimbursers, and clients as a valuable service steeped in evidence.
Citing Your Sources
The style mainly used for Occupational Therapy is:
- American Psychological Association (APA)
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find Occupational Therapy eBooks
Click on a subject to see ebooks:
Prefer the retro feel of a book in your hands? Browse the library shelves in the R-RM section. Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
