Research Guides: Occupational Therapy: Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO -Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular database includes full-text and abstracts.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - Covers topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Provides independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The library collection includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1966-current) Education Resource Information Center is the major education index. Also use ERIC from the Department of Education site.
JBI Sumari This link opens in a new window
JBI SUMARI facilitates the entire systematic review process from protocol to report, and includes team and contributor management for effective and efficient collaboration. First-time users must create an account.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - (1950's-current) Biomedical journal abstracts for medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Also available in public Web Version. Searches abstracts of over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - Covers the fields of nursing and allied health.
Includes journals, videos, dissertations, e-books, study paths, and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1806-current) International index/abstracts of journals, books, dissertations and reports in psychology and related disciplines.
Covers psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
(Free) PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Whitworth Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
PubMed Quick Tour – Find Articles on a Topic.
LitSense (Search Tool for PubMed) – Finds the best-matching sentences based on overlapping terms as well as semantic similarity searching PubMEd and PMC..
Visible Body - Anatomy Apps This link opens in a new window
Visible Body is a selection of multimedia apps that allows users to explore human anatomy through 3-D examination. Included in Whitworth's collection is Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology, and Muscle Premium.
Mobile apps are also available. Search in Apple Store or Google Play for 2021 Atlas Perpetual, 2020 P&P Perpetual, or 2018 Muscle Premium Perpetual - do not purchase, they should be the free versions. The initial download is large. Once downloaded, you can only gain access by logging into WhitStaff or WhitStudent Wifi networks on campus and opening the app. You will then have access from anywhere for 150 days.

Citing Your Sources

The style mainly used for Occupational Therapy is:

American Psychological Association (APA)

However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.

How to Find Occupational Therapy eBooks

Click on a subject to see eBooks:

Prefer the retro feel of a book in your hands? Browse the library shelves in the R-RM section. Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>

Have more questions?

Stephanie Hallam

Email Me

Contact:
115 Cowles Library
509.777.4483