Resources by type
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1952-current) Covers international literature in sociology, social work, and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1871-current) Covers international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
- Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts: ASSIA This link opens in a new windowProQuest - ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, gerontology, and education.
- Social & Behavioral Sciences Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) Social & Behavioral Sciences Commons is an Open Access repository of social sciences literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution.
- Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1985-current) International literature of sociology and social work, including related fields of social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Social WorkCovers all aspects of social work, including more recent trends in immigration, technology, managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
- A Dictionary of Sociology (3 rev ed.)Oxford University Press. Includes terms taken from sociology and the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Multidisciplinary streaming video and music collections including history, art, business, law, dance, education, healthcare, music, science, and more.
Library databases
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline includes Congressional Research Service Reports, Government Accountability Office Reports, full text of U.S. Presidential Commission Reports and more.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowThis database provides research and reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Includes PAIS International (1972-current) and PAIS Archive (1915-1976). Indexing/abstracting to journal articles, books, gov. documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, international publications, and more.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowIncludes newspaper content updated daily and going back decades. Searchable by topic, geographic area, keyword, date, section of newspaper and more.
Government websites
- Congressional Research ReportsCRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.
- Federal government departments and agenciesFind the website for any federal agency - a good source for data and current programs.
- Poverty estimates, trends and analysisData and reports commissioned by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
- U.S. Census Data on PovertyExplore statistics on income, poverty, race, family size - check out the interactive policy data tools.
- Labor Force Statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsThis page contains information on the earnings of employed persons derived from the Current Population Survey (CPS). Data on employed and unemployed persons, hours of work, and other demographic and labor force characteristics also are available.
Policy Think Tanks
- Brookings Institute - Washington, D.C.Progressive foreign policy, economics, development, governance and metropolitan policy
- Center for American Progress - Washington, D.C.Liberal/Progressive analysis of major domestic issues such as economic policy, education, health
- Wilson Center - Washington, D.C.Centrist-liberal addresses issues of international development, science and technology, and security and international affairs
- Aspen Institute - Washington, D.C.Centrist, international, diverse, non-partisan topic coverage
- The Heritage Foundation - Washington, D.C.Conservative American public policy
- Cato Institute - Washington, D.C.Libertarian policy studies, briefs, books, and periodicals
- Human Rights Watch - New York, NYInternational human rights issues
- Kaiser Family FoundationHealth research and policy
- National Bureau of Economic Research - Cambridge, MANon-partisan economic research
- Center for Immigration StudiesPolicy analysis of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration on the United States
- City-Data.comInformation on several U.S. cities including maps, photographs, resident statistics, and geographical data.
- Population Reference Bureau DatafinderHundreds of sources for population related topics around the world.
Source: Population Reference Bureau - Explore U.S. Census DataU.S. Census Data presented in customizable tables, data profiles, maps and visualizations, and by industry and NAICS code.
- Population and Poverty Research NetworkThe Hewlett Foundation and its partners have supported research to improve the evidence base on how population growth affects economic development and to inform medium-term policy issues, based on a research agenda outlined by the Center for Global Development expert working group in 2005.
- Demographic DivideThis website is hosted by the Bill & Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. It exists to host resource materials available from a number of organizations engaged in research, advocacy, and policy work related to the demographic dividend.
- Middle East Sociology Working GroupThe working group grows out the recognition that -- using conventional definitions -- sociologists are underrepresented among Middle East specialists, and Middle East specialists are underrepresented among sociologists. The working group is intended to consolidate this field of study and to increase scholarly training and collaboration.
Sociology at Whitworth
- Sociology DepartmentProvides information about the department, program offerings, career opportunities and faculty.
Citing Your Sources
American Sociological Association Style Guide by Call Number: REF HM569 .A54 2014ISBN: 9780912764214Pub. date: 2014Also available on permanent reserve
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for Sociology are:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find Sociology Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- HM481-554
- Sociology. Theory. Method.
- HM831-901
- Social change
- HM1106-1171
- Interpersonal relations. Social behavior
- HQ 503-1064
- The family. Marriage. Home.
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
