Key Article Databases
- Arts & Humanities Commons This link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Commons is an Open Access repository of humanities literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution.
- Fine Arts (OneFile) This link opens in a new windowGALE - Includes drama, music, art history, and film making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
- GALE Literature This link opens in a new windowGALE - Research authors and their works or literary movements and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - A library of 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, over 325 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. NO LONGER INCLUDES MLA, use MLA International link in A-Z Databases list.
Selected Journals
- American Theatre1992-present online
- Back Stage2008-present online
- Dance, movement & spiritualities2005-present online
- Dance Chronicle1977-one year ago online
- Educational Theatre Journal1949-1978 online
1959-1978 in library - New Theatre Quarterly1997-present online
- Stage of the Art2004-2007 online
- Stage Directions2001-present online
- Theatre Journal1979-one year ago online
1979-1985, 2004-present in library
Online Reference Books
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and PerformanceOxford University Press - coverage from ancient Greece to the most recent theatrical developments, including information on plays, circus, film, radio, and more. The online version of the printed encyclopedia.
- The Oxford Performing Arts Reference Books OnlineOxford University Press - Full-text references on the performing arts. Includes dictionaries on dance, music and opera. Some titles are available in paper: International encyclopedia of dance is at Reference GV1585.I586 1998, The Oxford dictionary of plays is at Reference PN1625.P38 2005.
Videos and Images
- Theatre in Video Vol. IAlexander Street Press - Theatre in Video contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays.
- Theatre in Video: Vol. IIAlexander Street Press - Theatre in Video contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays.
- Music & Performing Arts in VideoAlexander Street Press channel of videos covering a range of topics and performances.
- Dance in VideoAlexander Street Press. • Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
- BroadwayHDAlexander Street Press video collection of selected Broadway performances from 1966-2017
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Multidisciplinary streaming video and music collections including history, art, business, law, dance, education, healthcare, music, science, and more.
History of Theater
Dionysus Writes by
Call Number: PA3201 .W57 1998ISBN: 9780801434594What is the nature of theatre's uneasy alliance with literature? Should theatre be viewed as a preliterate, ritualistic phenomenon that can only be compromised by writing? Or should theatre be grouped with other literary arts as essentially textual, with even physical performance subsumed under the aegis of textuality?
History of the Theatre by Call Number: PN2101 .B68 2008ISBN: 9780205511860Worldwide coverage, more than 530 photos and illustrations, useful maps, and the expertise of Oscar G. Brockett and Franklin J. Hildy, two of the most widely respected theatre historians in the field.
Theatre Histories by Call Number: PN2101 .T44 2010ISBN: 9780415462235Offers overviews of theatre and drama in many world cultures and periods together with case studies demonstrating the methods and interpretive approaches used by today's theatre historians.
The Cambridge History of British Theatre since 1895 by Call Number: PN2581 .C36 2004ISBN: 97805218279043 volumes
Explores the rich and complex histories of English, Scottish and Welsh theatres from early Britain to the present.The Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays by
Call Number: PN6112.5.S45 1984ISBN: 9780517553923From the classics of ancient Greece to the best of modern American theater, this guide provides a plot synopsis, stage history, cast listing, analysis, and critical opinions for each of 750 outstanding plays.
A Chronology of American Musical Theater by Call Number: REf ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002ISBN: 97801950888853 volumes
In-depth coverage of Broadway musicals from 1850-2001. The book's entries span more than 5,000 shows, including not only "book musicals" but also revivals, revues, burlesques, operettas, and more.
Theatre language by Call Number: REF PN2035.B6Pub. date: 1961A dictionary of terms in English of the drama and stage from medieval to modern times.
Acting
To the Actor by Call Number: PN2061 .C54 2003ISBN: 9780415258760How does an actor learn to: * Call up emotion? * Develop a character? * Strengthen awareness? These are essential techniques for every actor, and Michael Chekhov's classic work To the Actor explains, clearly and concisely, how to develop them.Tips: Ideas for Actors by
Call Number: PN2061 .J59 2000ISBN: 9781575252025Provides 205 tips for refining such acting skills as technique, textual study, transitions, role building, play-writing, and strategy.
Acting by Call Number: PN2061.B55ISBN: 9780878300006This classic work on acting is one of the very few that stands beside Stanislavsky as a must-have for all acting students and professionals. Richard Boleslavsky's Acting: The First Six Lessons is a treasure-box of wise observation about the art of acting, all wrapped up in six charming dialogues between a teacher and a student.
Encyclopedia of Acting Techniques by Call Number: PN2061.P47 1997ISBN: 9781558704565This complete reference is filled with professional tips and techniques for strengthening acting skills and is packed with practical, step-by-step reference pictures in full color.
Dance and Movement
- Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
Videos and photographs of dance performances at Jacob's Pillow since 1930s.
Movement by Call Number: PN2071.M6 B37 2017ISBN: 9781138907812Movement: Onstage and Off is the complete guide for actors to the most effective techniques for developing a fully expressive body. It is a comprehensive compilation of established fundamentals.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Call Number: REF GV1585.I586 1998ISBN: 97801950946266 volumes
Nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
Costuming
The Art and Practice of Costume Design by Call Number: PN2067 .A75 2017ISBN: 9781138828407Beginning with an exploration of the role of a Costume Designer, the subsequent chapters analyse and explore the psychology of dress, the principles and elements of design, how to create costume renderings, and collaboration within the production. The book also takes a look at the costume shop and the role of the designer within it, and costume design careers within theatrical and fashion industries.
Essentials of Period Style by Call Number: PN2091.S8 T57 2016ISBN: 9780415710053A Sourcebook for Stage and Production Designers covers the visual, social, and political dynamics of multiple epochs and cultures and discusses how these trends affect the design of the architecture, costumes, and furnishings of the time.
The Magic Garment by Call Number: TT507 .C92 2009ISBN: 9781577666134Understanding stage costumes -- Understanding the play -- Doing research -- The designer's tools : the elements and principles of design -- Developing the costume -- Rendering the sketch -- Choosing fabrics -- Getting the show together -- Designing for film -- Preparing for a costume design career
Classic fashion patterns of the 20th century by Call Number: TT520 .T96 2010 OVERSIZEDISBN: 0896762637Working from surviving garments and contemporary tailoring books and patterns, each decade is considered separately, with a short introduction that reveals the fascinating relationship between dress and social trends throughout the century
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: REF GT507 .E53 2005ISBN: 9780684313948Surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras.
ALSO AVAILABLE AS AN EBOOK
Stagecraft and set design
Stagecraft Fundamentals by Call Number: PN2053 .C32 2009ISBN: 9780240808574Stagecraft Fundamentals is the only book that tackles every aspect of theatre production. The history of stagecraft, safety precautions, lighting, costumes, scenery, career planning tips, and more are discussed with modern, color examples that display both step-by-step procedures and the finished product. From the student beginning in theatre to the practiced, Rita Kogler Carver assembles her vast experience into a one-stop guide for theatrical production.
Illustrated Theatre Production Guide by Call Number: PN2085 .H64 2014ISBN: 9780415717526A step-by-step approach to the most prevalent and established theatre production practices, focusing on essential issues related to the construction of wooden, fabric, plastic, and metal scenery used on the stage.
Stage Lighting Design by Call Number: PN2091.E4 F73 1999ISBN: 9781861262486Among the topics covered are choosing and using equipment; working with color; techniques for focusing; planning, testing, and executing a lighting design; lighting in the round and other staging layouts; and lighting Shakespeare, Brecht, and many other production styles.
Making the Scene by Call Number: PN2091.S8 B67 2010 OVERSIZEDISBN: 9780292722736Survey of the evolving context, theory, and practice of scene design from ancient Greek times to the present, coauthored by the world's best-known authority on the subject and enhanced by three hundred full-color illustrations.Scene Design in the American Theatre from 1915-1960 by
Call Number: PN2091.S8 L294 1989ISBN: 9781557280640A chronicle of the activities of the new stagecraft designers and their followers with an appraisal of the state of the art and the European influences previous to their appearance.
Directing and management
Working Together in Theatre by Call Number: PN2053 .C58 2011ISBN: 9780230239821Robert Cohen draws on fifty years of acting, directing and teaching experience in order to illustrate how the world's great theatre artists combine collaboration with leadership at all levels, from a production's conception to its final performance.
The Cambridge Introduction to Theatre Directing by Call Number: PN2053 .I52 2013ISBN: 9780521844499Discusses artistic and political values, rehearsal methods and the diverging relationships with actors, designers, other collaborators and audiences, and treatment of dramatic material.
A Survival Guide for Stage Managers by Call Number: PN2085 .A44 2011ISBN: 9781432766511Organization -- Rehearsal process -- Technical aspects -- Performances -- The career
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for Theatre & Dance are:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
How to Find Theatre & Dance Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- GT 500-2370
- Costume. Dress. Fashion
- GV 1580-1799.4
- Dancing
- NX 798-820
- Arts centers and facilities
The Library of Congress Classification System groups plays by country/language, time period, and author name. There are also special sections within these that are specifically for collections of plays. See Browsing in the Library for more details.
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
