Key Article Databases
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline - Covers 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Book and E-book Resources
- Oxford Social Sciences Reference Books OnlineOxford University Press - Some titles are available in paper: Encyclopedia of evolution is at REF QH360.2.E54 2002, Encyclopedia of human rights is at REF JC571.E673 2009, The encyclopedia of religion and nature is at REF BL31.E465 2005, The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world is at REF DS35.53.O96 2009.
Encyclopedia of the U.S. government and the Environment: History, Policy, and Politics by Call Number: REFERENCE GE180 .E53 20112 Volumes
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics by Call Number: Ref JA61 .C66 2004ISBN: 0415276225Pub. date: 20032 volume set
U.S. Government Internet Sites
- Congress.gov (THOMAS)In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
- Library of CongressView exhibits, read digital library collections, search LC online databases. Obtain the full text of legislation, access to congressional documents, Congressional Record and more through THOMAS.
- U.S. House of RepresentativesNames, addresses, phone numbers of Representatives; links to House office gophers; visitor information; schedules of legislative activity; educational materials on the legislative process.
Source: U.S. House of Representatives - U.S. SenateNames, addresses, phone numbers of Senators; visitor information; schedules of legislative activity, and more.
Source: U.S. Senate - White HouseInformation on the President and Vice-President, recent speeches, tours of White House, and more.
Source: The White House - USA.govProvides access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources.
Source: U.S. General Services Administration - Federal Judicial CenterGeneral information about the Federal Judicial Center. Connects to other informational sources such as Commerce Business Daily and other governmental sites.
Source: the Federal Judicial Center
Other Internet Resources on Government
- Congress.orgListing of congressional officials, voting records, bills in congress, letters and opinion with links to other sites.
Source: CQ-Roll Call, Inc. - State and local government on the NetExtensive list government web sites for U.S. states and territories includes local governments.
Primary Sources
- Core Documents of U.S. DemocracyCurrent and historical government publications that define U.S. democratic society.
Source: Government Printing Office
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowReadex -Articles and full-text books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Subjects include agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, and religion.
How to Find Government Books
In the Library of Congress classification system used by the Whitworth Library, government books in both the main collection and reference (non-circulating) collection are shelved under call numbers beginning with these letters:
- JK
- Political institutions, United States
- JS
- Local government
To search for both print books and e-books owned by the library, use the Library Catalog tab above. E-books can also be found via the Electronic Books tab above.